Recent activity
Subscribe to this feed
Jason Y marked one of Scott McBreen's replies in Name.com as useful. Scott McBreen replied to the problem "Name.com DNS stolen by spam site.".
Jason Y replied on November 11, 2009 21:40 to the problem "Name.com DNS stolen by spam site." in Name.com:
Scott, your suggestion has worked to fix the problem. Thank you for your excellent help. FYI, I'm used to using Fully Qualified Domain Names for my DNS info, which require the trailing dot. I'm not sure how proper it is to leave off the trailing dot.
Pros of Name.com
Excellent customer service. Scott actually looked up my number and called me to debug the issue, including some back-and-forth with his techs. Ultimately the problem was resolved; for that I must commend name.com.
Cons of Name.com
Utter lack of transparency. I found that name.com is actually affiliated with information.com to the extent that name.com purposefully serves their own content on "unused" customer subdomains to monetize these domains. Despite my obvious assumption to the contrary that I had been the victim of DNS hijacking or poisoning, Scott did not offer this information until I asked directly on our third or fourth communication.
I hadn't even thought of this as a possibility, as it seemed initially out of the question. Why would a company even dare to try to monetize one of my subdomains? If there is no traffic to that subdomain, then they won't make any money, and if there is traffic, then obviously it's traffic intended for a site of mine, and neither I, nor any developer, would ever tolerate traffic stolen by a company that I pay to serve my DNS. Furthermore, nowhere on the offending page (see first image) was any mention of this fact. Nothing to the tune of "Is this your site?" or "Why am I seeing this page?". Unacceptably dishonest.
Conclusion
All told, name.com has wasted hundreds of dollars of my company's time, and despite their excellent customer service, their dishonest schemes to take advantage of paying customers will deter me from using their services in the future.
A comment on the problem "Name.com DNS stolen by spam site." in Name.com:
Please see comment below. – Jason Y, on November 09, 2009 03:48
Jason Y replied on November 09, 2009 03:44 to the problem "Name.com DNS stolen by spam site." in Name.com:
Hi Cliff,
Thank you for the quick reply; it speaks well of your company. However, the problem persists after ~72 hours, and it appears now more serious than a simple caching problem:
$ host ns1.name.com
ns1.name.com has address 174.143.93.179
$ dig @174.143.93.179 foo21.gardensity.com
...snip...
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;foo21.gardensity.com. IN A
;; ANSWER SECTION:
foo21.gardensity.com. 300 IN CNAME gardensity.com.
gardensity.com. 300 IN A 4.79.81.149
;; Query time: 57 msec
;; SERVER: 174.143.93.179#53(174.143.93.179)
;; WHEN: Sun Nov 8 19:27:51 2009
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 82
If indeed ns1.name.com is resolving correctly on my end (i.e. the IP of 174.143.93.179 is correct), then subdomains are resolving incorrectly to 4.79.81.149; moreover that incorrect response is being given by your own nameserver, ns1.name.com.
As an additional note to help debug this, when I query for the base domain itself, I get the correct IP of 67.23.12.83:
$ dig @174.143.93.179 gardensity.com
...snip...
gardensity.com. 300 IN A 67.23.12.83
...snip...
I've tried these digs from several machines on different networks, all with the same result. I believe at this point that I/you/we are the victims of DNS poisoning, and I would encourage your technical team to look into how this happened in the first place (rogue account at name.com?) and how to fix it as quickly as possible.
Jason Y reported a problem in Name.com on November 06, 2009 05:12:
Name.com DNS stolen by spam site.Hi, I've had the domain gardensity.com registered with Name.com for six months now. I recently changed the nameservers from ns{1,2,3}.slicehost.net to ns{1,2,3,4}.name.com, intending to use name.com as my DNS host, with both DNS servers having identical A records (and other) data.
However, when I browse to gardensity.com, I'm presented with this:
Page source, pointing to information.com:
Here are my current settings in your web interface. First, my nameservers are correctly set to ns{1,2,3,4}.name.com:
The CNAME record clearly indicates that *.gardensity.com should resolve to gardensity.com (which it is), and the A record shows gardensity.com should resolve to 67.23.12.83:
However, it's resolving instead to 4.79.81.149, which is some spam site affiliated with information.com. Here's a dns trace:
In particular, check out those last few lines:
foobar1892.gardensity.com. 300 IN CNAME gardensity.com.
gardensity.com. 300 IN A 4.79.81.149
;; Received 87 bytes from 174.129.224.210#53(ns4.name.com) in 7 ms
Your server, ns4.name.com, appears to be sending back 4.79.81.149
This is a problem. Don't give me your canned "Oh-well-things-take-48-hours-to-propogate" crap. The only changes that had to propagate was a DNS server change from ns_.slicehost.net to ns_.name.com, neither of which pointed to 4.79.81.149. Furthermore, the change clearly already *has* propagated, because the dig command is asking ns4.name.com for its response, a response which somehow incorrectly points to some spammer's server.
Jason Y reported a problem in Yelp on October 22, 2009 23:25:
Yelp blocking random IPs, including mine!Hi, I can't seem to get to Yelp. When I visit
http://www.yelp.com
All I get is this:
Forbidden
You don't have permission to access / on this server.
Why am I blocked? I'm just an average yelp user. I can visit from other IPs, but not from mind. You guys are blocking someone too aggressively, and have somehow included my IP in your block. Please try to suck less in the future.
Jason Y reported a problem in JetBlue on September 29, 2009 02:34:
Cannot unsubscribe from TrueBlue StatementHi,
I've received monthly "TrueBlue Statement" emails for some time now. Every time I get one in my inbox, I click the "unsubscribe" link at the bottom, but every month, your broken system still sends me emails. The record so far:
Statement sent 5/21/09, unsubscribed 5/22/09
Statement sent 6/25/09, unsubscribed 6/29/09
Statement sent 8/25/09, unsubscribed 8/26/09
Statement sent 9/24/09, unsubscribed 9/28/09
To add insult to injury, the emails only serve to inform me that I have 0 "TrueBlue points". How you managed to sign me up for your inane program without giving me a single point is beyond me, as is why you think I need to be reminded of my 0 points every month. Rating you 0/10 until I hear back. I also mark your emails as spam, just to keep them out of the inboxes of other gmail users.
Loading Profile...




