Kill the Next Episode Pop-up!

  • 77
  • Problem
  • Updated 7 years ago
  • Acknowledged


The pop-up box that appears after every attempt to use a link needs to removed.
It is a complete nuisance and, since you've added the bar of contemporaneous episodes at the base of the links, absolutely unnecessary. The truth is the damn thing is more of a hindrance than a help.
If the link is broken, I'm already free to report that. If the link brings me to somewhere I don't want to be, there's already a key for that. And now, if I want to watch the next episode, the previous episode, or a few episodes either way, I could go to the bottom of the page, make my selection, even chose Search Links and thereby go further, faster than if I had hit the Watch the Next Episode key in the box.
I know that there have been other complaints about this. I can't recall where they were, nor do I know where they've gone, but there have been so many complaints about so many things, it would give me an ulcer just to keep track. Fortunately, this one is an easy fix.
There is no need to re-write, re-program, or re-do. Just delete the damn thing and you're through.
I'll thank you now and hope that I'm not getting too far ahead of myself.
Photo of Bentley

Bentley

  • 31 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • growing more inured, but that doesn't mean it doesn't bother me.

Posted 9 years ago

  • 77
Photo of Alex

Alex

  • 4789 Posts
  • 192 Reply Likes
Official Response
Good news, 'Reelers! Logged-in users can now OPT OUT of the Post-Watch Popup!
When you return to SideReel shortly after choosing a link (likely due to a broken or spam link), you'll see the 'sad path' version of the Post-Watch Popup, which is designed to help you more efficiently report a broken link. Now, you'll see a prompt in the bottom right corner, allowing you to disable this version of the popup in the future.


You can also disable/enable it by going to your preferences, then going to 'settings' in the left sidebar, and toggling the popup on/off from there.


Keep in mind that the 'happy path' version will still occur even if you've opted out, but since this should only show up when you've actually watched something, hopefully this will make it less of an obstacle in your search for a working link.


Thanks to everyone for their feedback, and we look forward to hearing your thoughts on this update!