I’m frustrated

Need method to avoid losing entered information accidentally

I accidentally hit the back button during a PlannerX session and lost all my work. I also found that it is very easy to accidentally delete lines, but I haven't found any "undelete" capability. I have used web apps, such as gmail that warn of losing unsaved information upon any attempt to navigate away from a page. Were it not for having to redo an hour of work, I would absolutely say I'm saving a TON of time and frustration by using PlannerX.
1 person likes
this idea
+1
Reply
  • EMPLOYEE
    I’m confident
    Hi John,

    Thanks for pointing this out. We added this feature in our Planning Module for activeCollab (which is PlannerX for activeCollab) and we will be bringing it back to PlannerX in the coming upgrade. It will prompt you to save your work before changing the page.

    We do want to implement an Undo feature too, but that is complicated to implement and will take time. We plan to add some other features before we get to Undo.

    Thanks.

    :Nirav
    • Your quick reply was much appreciated. Working again with PlannerX today I think I know more precisely what the problem is, and it doesn't require an undelete function. Here it is: I enter a To-Do List and it has an "assignee" named. But I think Basecamp doesn't have assignees for Lists. So, I highlight the name and press delete...but I seem to lose the entire line instead of just deleting the assignee. Now I know to not press delete but to backspace over the name to avoid deleting the entire To-Do List. I don't know if this is an easier fix or not: that is, being able to highlight an assignee and press delete to clear that field without deleting the entire line. I don't want to test this more thoroughly right now because I'm very busy using your wonderful product!
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited

  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited

  • EMPLOYEE
    I’m thankful
    We have updated the logic now so that pressing delete will delete an item (and all its children) only if you press delete while the full item name is selected (or when you are in the first column). Pressing delete in Assignee / Date fields will not delete the item.

    We have also improved keyboard navigation within an item while you are editing it.

    We also added an "auto save" of plans. It will keep saving your plan every 5 minutes to local disk. When your plan is saved to Basecamp, local version is removed.

    We hope this will improve your experience with PlannerX.

    Thank you!
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited

  • I am accidentally loosing lines in the Planning Module for AC. Maybe need to give more time for the screen to refresh or better understand the shortcuts. Creating a new ticket under a milestone is giving some grief. I think I need to add it after the last ticket and then move it up to rearrange and limit what is visible to make things easier to not change into something else (ticket, task, milestone).
    • You can drag and drop single items to position them. If you want to create a new ticket after another, first be on the last ticket, and press enter. That will create an item right below it.

      You can also use the Focus mode to limit what's visible on the screen (along with other options in Settings menu at top right).

      Pressing Tab or Shift + Tab will change the type of an item.

      I understand there are these shortcuts to learn to use Planning module / PlannerX most effectively. We will plan on writing a short tutorial on this..

      :Nirav
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited

  • EMPLOYEE
    I’m happy
    We have added a confirmation prompt for delete in Planning Module for activeCollab. Will add it to PlannerX in the next release.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited