Why won't Planner X process my request?

  • Question
  • Updated 6 years ago
Can't save project. Getting message that says "Not found (404). Could not process request.
Photo of CEC

CEC

  • 11 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 6 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Nirav Mehta

Nirav Mehta, Official Rep

  • 1989 Posts
  • 62 Reply Likes
Hi Craig,

404 error means it was not able to find an item.

One problem could be that you are trying to save an item that does not exist - e.g. when it was deleted directly from Basecamp, or in an earlier save operation.

Could you reduce the number of items, or try doing a batch update on them and save the plan again?

Sorry for the troubles, but this is something we can't really get our hands on as the error comes from Basecamp.

:Nirav
Photo of CEC

CEC

  • 11 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Sorry, this doesn't help much. I've logged out of Basecamp. And logged back in. I've tried several different approaches, and the message resumes, meaning I am not able to use the Planner.
Photo of Nirav Mehta

Nirav Mehta, Official Rep

  • 1989 Posts
  • 62 Reply Likes
Hi Craig,

Sorry for the troubles. I was checking the logs and I saw the session information was not properly stored for your plan. Could you tell me what browser you are using? What platform? Could you try from some other computer?

One more option is to try with another, fresh project. See if you can create some milestones and todo lists in that. Probably without any special characters in them.

In the meanwhile, we are looking into this and will find a solution.

Thanks for your support.

:Nirav
Photo of

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I am also having this problem. I am using Safari 3.2.1 so I am on a Mac. I was really hoping PlannerX would reduce my project development time but instead it's causing me more time and stress. I have not had one plane go through to Basecamp yet.
Photo of Nirav Mehta

Nirav Mehta, Official Rep

  • 1989 Posts
  • 62 Reply Likes
Sorry Jeff! Yesterday's been a bad day for us! You will certainly be able to rearrange milestones. This was working in earlier version and broke in between. We are putting in a solution today.

Thanks for your support and persistence.
Photo of Nirav Mehta

Nirav Mehta, Official Rep

  • 1989 Posts
  • 62 Reply Likes
Ok, we got the problem. Here's a test case to recreate:

- Load your plan
- On a to-do list, hit enter
- Do Shift Tab, to promote the new to-do list as milestone
- Hit Enter, to create a new item. Create a few to-do lists
- Navigate to next milestone, and hit Tab. This will make it a todo list under the new milestone you created
- Save
- This will give 404 error.

We will add a fix for this soon.

Temporary Workaround: Don't promote / demote existing milestones / todo lists / todo items with Tab/Shift Tab.
Photo of CEC

CEC

  • 11 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thank you. that is precisely when it is happening. (but it is also the value of the program if it can handle this). There's not much point in me using the program otherwise, so I look forward to the solution. thanks for looking into this!
Photo of Nirav Mehta

Nirav Mehta, Official Rep

  • 1989 Posts
  • 62 Reply Likes
Yes, promoting and demoting existing items is indeed a big feature of PlannerX. We will have a fix for this within 24 hours. Thanks for your patience.
Photo of Nirav Mehta

Nirav Mehta, Official Rep

  • 1989 Posts
  • 62 Reply Likes
Apologies for delay on this. We are working on a solution.

BTW, when you convert a milestone into a todo-list or todo-item, we need to delete it and create a new item. That means all associated comments / files will be deleted as well. Is that fine?

Our approach is to not delete the actual milestone, but rename it as "[archive] milestone name". If you then delete it, all comments / files will be gone.

(and unfortunately there is no way to preserve comments while promoting / demoting an item)
Photo of CEC

CEC

  • 11 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
No, this is not fine. Deleting comments and files is unacceptable. If that's the solution, then your product provides limited value. Moreover, you should provide a disclaimer to this effect BEFORE people purchase your product.

I hope you find a solution that can preserve comments and files; otherwise I am wasting my time attempting to use the product and put myself and my operations at great risk.
Photo of Nirav Mehta

Nirav Mehta, Official Rep

  • 1989 Posts
  • 62 Reply Likes
Our approach is to not delete the milestone / todo item when you promote / demote it. We will keep it around with a "[archive]" identifier. If the user wants to delete, she can delete the [archive] item and then comments / files will be deleted (by Basecamp).

We are still looking at a better alternative though - with limited functionality that's exposed through the API.

And yes, I agree we should have this mentioned clearly in our documents. Will update.
Photo of CEC

CEC

  • 11 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Any progress here?
Photo of Nirav Mehta

Nirav Mehta, Official Rep

  • 1989 Posts
  • 62 Reply Likes
Yes! Very close to solving this. We are checking if there are any comments on a milestone / todo item. If there are, we mark that as a [zombie] and complete it. A new item gets created with the same name as original item in the place you wanted. We are testing this, and will have it live soon.

Thanks!
Photo of CEC

CEC

  • 11 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I hope you can find a solution to preserve comments and files. That is what could make your product meaningful.
Question: When you "demote" and then "promote" (somewhere else), is this the process where you say files and comments are lost?
Photo of Nirav Mehta

Nirav Mehta, Official Rep

  • 1989 Posts
  • 62 Reply Likes
As of now, we have solved all known issues with moving around items (drag & drop / tab / shift tab). We are saving items with a [zombie] tag when they were moved and had comments.

Have posted a small note about zombie items on our blog, will expand on it soon.

Thank you for your patience!