Bug on entering overs without a legitimate ball

  • Problem
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Solved
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members.

Hi Mark, as reported by John in a earlier thread, I have just tested the following scenario. New bowler comes on, bowls two balls, both beamers, umpire calls no ball to both and advises bowler is banned from bowling in the match. Cricketstat accepts the bowling figures of 0 0 2 0 and will even accept the two no balls being entered, however when you exit and go back in, the 0 0 2 0 is still there, the two no balls have disappeared. Tried this three times over for the same result. However if I try 0.1 0 2 0 it will accept two no balls.

Pat
Photo of Pat Culpan

Pat Culpan

  • 112 Posts
  • 10 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Jacquie Schaff

Jacquie Schaff

  • 130 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
Hi Pat

Why wouldn't you enter 0.2 overs?
Photo of Jacquie Schaff

Jacquie Schaff

  • 130 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
Ok sorry - not thinking! They were no balls!!!
Photo of Mark

Mark, Founder

  • 1139 Posts
  • 28 Reply Likes
Hi Pat - when you say that you are "testing a scenario" - are you saying that you have this as a real problem with a match or just stress-testing the product?
Photo of John Boomer

John Boomer

  • 163 Posts
  • 21 Reply Likes
Mark

Been away for a while and just noticed this.

Yes it did happen in a Women's International Match between Ireland and Pakistan a couple of years ago.

The bowler bowled 2 beamers in her first two balls - both called as no balls and then she was now allowed to bowl again.

Pleased you have now "fixed" this even though it must be a very rare event.
Photo of Pat Culpan

Pat Culpan

  • 112 Posts
  • 10 Reply Likes
Just a stress test. It was something John had raised earlier buried on another thread as a genuine occurrence a while ago and it came to light from a follow up to that post yesterday. So I checked it out.
Photo of Mark

Mark, Founder

  • 1139 Posts
  • 28 Reply Likes
No problem. I will look into it but it might be low on the priority list at the moment.
Photo of Mark

Mark, Founder

  • 1139 Posts
  • 28 Reply Likes
I have made a change in build 8.4.25 which will allow bowlers to be entered without having bowled a legitimate ball.
Photo of Pat Culpan

Pat Culpan

  • 112 Posts
  • 10 Reply Likes
Mark, the bowler could be entered before, and would allow figures of 0 0 2 0, however when you entered the 2 in the nb field it would accept, but disappear once you exited the bowling entry tab. The actual 0 0 2 0 would remain
Photo of Mark

Mark, Founder

  • 1139 Posts
  • 28 Reply Likes
Pat, this has been fixed to allow it. Please try it.
Photo of Pat Culpan

Pat Culpan

  • 112 Posts
  • 10 Reply Likes
Hi Mark, sweet as, all fixed now. Also checked it for the brand new bowler who comes on and bowls the 5 wides first ball and completes the match, workd perfectly as well.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.