Deleted debt account shows up in progress report

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 2 weeks ago
Shortly after the debt tracking feature was added, I created several debt accounts. I ended up deleting one (long story, but the new feature just didn't work for that particular account). At any rate, I just noticed that the progress report still shows this deleted account. It even says "DELETED" in front of the account name. I can hide the account from the graph, but it looks like it's still being added to the amount for the "Total Debt" graph line. Is there a way that I can fix this?
Photo of Jennifer Oakley

Jennifer Oakley

  • 2 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes

Posted 2 weeks ago

  • 1
Photo of Tiffany Kucifer

Tiffany Kucifer

  • 64 Posts
  • 28 Reply Likes
Deleting an account doesn’t delete its associated transactions, just the account itself. If you deleted it while there was still a balance, that balance will continue to show up in your reports. Perhaps deleting the original transaction(s) in that account (which should still be shown in your “all transactions” list) will resolve this.
Photo of Jennifer Oakley

Jennifer Oakley

  • 2 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
I just searched for transactions for that account. The only transaction that came up was the starting balance. I was able to just delete the transaction for the starting balance, and that fixed the problem. Thanks so much!
Photo of John Vander Stel

John Vander Stel

  • 282 Posts
  • 85 Reply Likes
That is a good recommendation as a fix for the problem.  Please take note, GoodBudget staff!  Cheers!
Photo of Alex Park

Alex Park, Official Rep

  • 266 Posts
  • 56 Reply Likes
Hi Jennifer (and everyone),

Glad you figured out how to get it removed! For visibility and clarity, deleting any Envelope or Account will remove it from your Envelopes/Accounts tab, but it will not remove it as a search/filter option in your transaction history or Reports. As for removing it fully, what Tiffany surmised and Jennifer found out is correct -- you can get it fully removed by deleting or editing all transactions that are connected to it.

Hope that helps.