Hiding or deleting paid off debt

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 6 months ago
I have searched the forum and haven't been able to find an answer for my question(s) regarding debt payoff.

When a debt is paid off and the balance is zero, is there a way to hide that debt from your envelopes and account views? Or would I just need to change the monthly payment amount to zero per month?
Photo of Myria R

Myria R

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 6 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Alex Park

Alex Park, Official Rep

  • 367 Posts
  • 71 Reply Likes
Hi Myria,

Once your Debt Account is fully paid off, you can simply delete it (and the associated Debt Payment Envelope) from your household, and this will remove them from your Envelope and Accounts views. Any transactions related to that Account will not be deleted, and will persist in your transactions history as well as your Reports. Note however this is a permanent action, and you won't be able to make any changes to the transactions or Accounts in the future.

Alternatively, you can simply leave the Account in your household and set the Monthly Payment to 0, as you suggested. This won't remove it from your views, but will exclude it from your budget and allow you to make further edits in the future.

Hope that helps!
Photo of Tiffany Kucifer

Tiffany Kucifer

  • 79 Posts
  • 33 Reply Likes
Hi Alex--is there a way to reactivate a "deleted" account? For example, I currently have a debt account for a credit card that offered a "six-months-same-as-cash" option, so that I could take advantage of the offer. (Outside of this one-off, I don't carry a balance on any cards.) When the six months is up and the balance is zero, I'd like to hide it from view but there's certainly a chance that I'll use it again if that option is offered at a time when I need to make a significant purchase. Will I need to create another debt account every time, if I don't want it to show now?
Along these lines, it would be great to add "hide account" and "hide envelope" toggles for cases like this!
Photo of Alex Park

Alex Park, Official Rep

  • 367 Posts
  • 71 Reply Likes
Hi Tiffany,

Currently deleting an Envelope or Account is a permanent action. So while you won't lose your data, there's no way to reactivate the Envelope / Account for further use. If you stop using an Envelope or Account you anticipate using in the future, the best course of action would be to simply let it lie fallow for the period you're not using it. If you delete it, you'll have to recreate it again later.

Thanks for your suggestion though! I've noted it in our tracker.