How to Close Off an Envelope Goal After I am Done?

  • 3
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Solved
I have been using the envelope to save towards a certain goal (Example. Saving for a new laptop) and have reached said goal and have spent the money saved towards the goal I want to delete that envelope as I am using a free version and I want to free up the space to be used for another goal without having my transaction of the goal deleted. I have tried deleting the envelope already and my transaction for that was gone and the money inside was changed to UNALLOCATED funds. So is there a way to close/delete the envelope while keeping the transaction? Keeping the envelope hidden would not give me extra envelope space. And if I were to buy the premium and keep it hidden I would still have a clutter of envelop for the goals after using it for a long time which I do not want to have either.
Photo of Mei Mei Tan

Mei Mei Tan

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 4 years ago

  • 3
Photo of Karisa Russell

Karisa Russell, Official Rep

  • 1689 Posts
  • 217 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi Mei Mei, 

These are great questions. Whenever you delete an Envelope with a balance, those remaining funds become Unallocated. To clarify, when you delete an Envelope, the transactions that are attached to it will still be visible in your Transaction History. However, they will no longer have an assigned Envelope. At that point, you can either leave those transactions unassigned, or re-assign them to a new Envelope. 

In the future, when you complete a Goal and need to free up the Envelope, what you can try is removing any funds in that Envelope to Unallocated. Then, you can delete the Envelope. 

I hope this helps!