When refilling envelopes, I chose reset all as I do not want to carry over. I see all transactions from the previous month??

  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 6 months ago
  • Answered
I have the same problem. When refilling envelopes, I chose reset all as I do not want to carry over. I see all transactions from the previous month??

Note: This conversation was created from a reply on: Budget and Spending Only in That Month.
Photo of Phil Maguire

Phil Maguire

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 5 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Steven Tafzil

Steven Tafzil, Employee

  • 1494 Posts
  • 82 Reply Likes
Hi Phil,

When you reset your Envelopes, all of your transaction history will remain but your Envelope balances will reset for the new month. This lets you budget for the new month, while preserving your transaction history over time.

If you want to delete all of your transaction history, you can do that by clicking on the "My Account" link on the top right of the website, then on "clear all my data" on the left.
Photo of Robin Rasmussen

Robin Rasmussen

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Is there a way to NOT have your balance from the previous months carry forward?
Photo of Alex Park

Alex Park, Official Rep

  • 362 Posts
  • 70 Reply Likes
Hi Robin,

The best way to do that would be to create a monthly scheduled Envelope Fill that Sets your Envelopes to their budgeted amounts at the start of each month. You can create one of those by following the instructions below:
  • Click on "Fill Envelopes" in the upper-left of your screen.
  • In Section 1. Fill from, choose "Unallocated".
  • Change the Date to November 1, then check the box that says "Schedule this..." and choose "Every month".
  • In Section 2. Fill your envelopes, locate the dropdown menu that says "Choose a Quick Fill" and select "Set all".
  • Save the Envelope Fill. This Envelope Fill should post again on the first of every month, allowing you to have a clean start each month with your budgeting.
  • (note: if you have an existing Envelope Fill that posts monthly on the 1st, you'll have to delete it so it doesn't interfere with this new one)
Hope that helps!