Bot putting automated bad reviews on films

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 11 months ago
  • Answered
It appears that there is a bot that just goes around leaving reviews

https://www.imdb.com/user/ur45215448/?ref_=tt_urv

My film comes out in a few weeks, less than 20 people have ever seen it, I am sure this person was not one of them.  Other people have reported this on reddit.  Is there anyway this bots reviews can be removed?
Photo of Benjamin Thomas

Benjamin Thomas

  • 6 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes

Posted 11 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16213 Posts
  • 18529 Reply Likes
No and he is not a bot.
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16213 Posts
  • 18529 Reply Likes
I had rated over 6000 titles on N-flix and over 5000 here. At certain times I have gleaned Info from a trusted source and reviewed and rated a title. Some rate a title they have not seen based on the likelyhood that they are interested in it and then adjust that rating after they finally see it. Not policy, but it happens. Your title is only rate-able because its release date preceded the "Actual Screening", otherwise no one could rate it.
(Edited)
Photo of Marco

Marco

  • 1123 Posts
  • 1390 Reply Likes
Some rate a title they have not seen

What kind of life must one have to lie about having seen a film? It's sad.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3613 Posts
  • 3490 Reply Likes

It appears that there is a bot that just goes around leaving reviews
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur45215448/
by Benjamin Thomas
Joined on November 3, 2018
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/benjamin_thomas_fih9zctru3hah
- - -

Benjamin Thomas (X)
Actor |  Writer |  Producer
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm6248956/

Deal With the Devil  (2018)
Director: Benjamin Thomas
Writer: Benjamin Thomas
Benjamin Thomas   ...  Murphy 
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4694546/
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4694546/reference
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4694546/reviews - 3 Reviews

My God.. 
by BatmanFunReviews2018 - 2 November 2018
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw4433527/
- - -

BatmanFunReviews2018
IMDb member since July 2013
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur45215448/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur45215448/reviews - 6,700 Reviews
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur45215448/ratings - 6,830 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur45215448/lists -  296 lists
.

(Edited)
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3613 Posts
  • 3490 Reply Likes

and 24 hours later ...

BatmanFunReviews2018
IMDb member since July 2013
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur45215448/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur45215448/reviews - 6,790 Reviews
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur45215448/ratings -  6,920 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur45215448/lists -  307 lists

.

(Edited)
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16213 Posts
  • 18529 Reply Likes
Weighted Average Ratings

IMDb publishes weighted vote averages rather than raw data averages. Various filters are applied to the raw data in order to eliminate and reduce attempts at vote stuffing by people more interested in changing the current rating of a movie than giving their true opinion of it.

The exact methods we use will not be disclosed. This should ensure that the policy remains effective. The result is a more accurate vote average.




Photo of Benjamin Thomas

Benjamin Thomas

  • 6 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
I understand that the film can have a review added as it has a release date. I dont understand how one user can write 100 reviews a day with out that seeming suspicious.   Again I am pretty sure this user has not seen the film.
Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 7264 Posts
  • 9465 Reply Likes
Posting a new review every ten minutes for sixteen hours is plausible.
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16213 Posts
  • 18529 Reply Likes
Benjamin that math is ridiculous. 100 X 365 X 5 = 182,500 reviews.
He has wrote 6000 in 5 years.
Jeorj who would do that. 80 a day? That leaves no time for a Job, a Wife, Kids, TV, Bathroom, Etc
Just sleep, get up, write reviews.
Wash Rinse Repeat.
That guy is not writing 80 reviews from eighty accounts.
Benjamin thinks that that ur account could vote 100 times on his pic alone. he cant. its one vote. Think!
Benjamin has not come up with 6000 accounts for one guy. He has found one and claims it is capable of multiple votes.
Why encourage or agree with his nonsensical statements?

Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16213 Posts
  • 18529 Reply Likes
Also I will not reply further to this.
I have made all the sense that is necessary.
Photo of Benjamin Thomas

Benjamin Thomas

  • 6 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
on 04 Nov 2018 BatmanFunReviews2018 rated 38 films.  this seems to be his average, about 40 per day.  How is it possible to watch 40 movies a day?  It appears these are automated or someone just trolling low budget films

Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16213 Posts
  • 18529 Reply Likes
The first 1000 titles from this guy in descending order are 10's


(Edited)
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16213 Posts
  • 18529 Reply Likes
You obviously did not fact checking before you made your statement
This is well past 2000 titles and he has not dipped below a full 10 rating

Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16213 Posts
  • 18529 Reply Likes
I'm done.
Photo of Elizabeth

Elizabeth, Employee

  • 241 Posts
  • 422 Reply Likes
Hi Benjamin,

If you've found a review on the website which you believe to be a breach of our guidelines, please select "report this" at the bottom of the review, select the appropriate reason from the list, then click submit so our editors can review. 

Thank you. 
Photo of Benjamin Thomas

Benjamin Thomas

  • 6 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
on 04 Nov 2018 BatmanFunReviews2018 rated 38 films.  this seems to be his average, about 40 per day.  How is it possible to watch 40 movies a day?
Photo of Vincent Fournols

Vincent Fournols

  • 2901 Posts
  • 4888 Reply Likes
It's a real business... :D
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16098 Posts
  • 18432 Reply Likes
And your Point is?
He is not voting or reviewing 40 TIMES FOR 1 TITLE.
He is not effecting any one titles rankings  AT ALL
Listen to someone telling you reasonable points.



Netflix Removed their reviews and ratings system.
This may be a guy transferring his data from one platform to another.
STOP MAKING CLAIMS WITHOUT KNOWING THE FACTS

I have REAL EXAMPLES OF BOT VOTING
THIS IS NOT ONE OF THEM.
Can you not see this?
(Edited)
Photo of Benjamin Thomas

Benjamin Thomas

  • 6 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur45215448/?ref_=tt_urv joined imdb in 2103, since then he has reviewed 6900 films.  Does this not seem a little strange?  

Also, how could he have possibly seen my film?  Only people who I sent a screener have seen it, and I am certain he did not receive one.  

I understand the need to prevent ballot stuffing but to have some one who has never seen the film leave a very negative review seems unfair to me.  Also, having someone leave 38 reviews in a day (I looked through his reviews) makes me question what is going on.  
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16098 Posts
  • 18432 Reply Likes
When I joined IMDB I went to work rating everything I had watched since age 5 or so. A lifetime of memories. No it is not ODD
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16098 Posts
  • 18432 Reply Likes
If I take into account Episodes watched and if I had rated ep by ep I would have rated well over 60,000 titles. but I drew the line at series level. Between Netflix and IMDb my ratings have exceeded 12,000
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16098 Posts
  • 18432 Reply Likes
I have been self employed for well over 45 years. I don't have a radio on. I have Satellite on. Dish or Direct Or Comcast over the years. The only time I'm not watching is when driving or sleeping, even then it's on. If the TV Stops I wake up!!! I might even subconsciously actually be taking in some portions of programs during light sleep. LOL
A BOT Rates many times for 1 title with 40 accounts
A person who rates 40 titles from one account ain't NO BOT!
Photo of Vincent Fournols

Vincent Fournols

  • 2901 Posts
  • 4888 Reply Likes
Cliff,

Benjamin is explicitely talking about 6900 reviews, not ratings. It takes only a simple click to rate, and it can be at random. It usually takes a movie or episode to be seen and writing a review before posting it...
Or did I get someting wrong?
(Edited)
Photo of Vincent Fournols

Vincent Fournols

  • 2901 Posts
  • 4888 Reply Likes
Reviews it is, indeed:
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16098 Posts
  • 18432 Reply Likes
Vince it is still 1 review by one man on 1 title.
Not 40 reviews by 1 man with 40 new accounts made every day.
This is someone that is probably transferring all his Netflix reviews to the IMDB. If you read them The are all very short reviews. Some are 10's A lot are not. But in the big picture his efforts will not effect overall rankings on titles that have a sufficient vote tallies. Also his reviews are bounce all over the place year wise. Look at them all as a body of work. I did. I looked at about 200 before commenting here at all.
There is NO MALICE here.
Photo of Vincent Fournols

Vincent Fournols

  • 2901 Posts
  • 4888 Reply Likes
Cliff,

Benjamin mentions 40 reviews per days, which you can easily doublecheck. He is raising the question (and I share his questioning): how can a guy watch 40 movies or episodes a day, finds the time to write about them and post them?
Your mentioning a transfer from some other websites is a good one.
Nevertheless, 6300 in 5 years is absolutely huge, and therefore questionable, with no malice as well!
Photo of Vincent Fournols

Vincent Fournols

  • 2901 Posts
  • 4888 Reply Likes
OK, they are rather short, with one or 2 sentences, but apparently he has seen the program.
Or maybe a quick overview of? For a guy with an experience in movie viewing, you may be able to build an opinion by watching the beginning, sample of the chore, and the end. May be no more than 15' on the whole for small productions, which are making the bulk of it.
Nevertheless, I would very interested to know how he manages it, and therefore how reliable and authoritative his reviews are.
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16098 Posts
  • 18432 Reply Likes
Vince I can write 40 reviews today based on knowledge from 55 years of memories. Watch this. Check the TIME RIGHT NOW on this posting. Will be right back.

Photo of Vincent Fournols

Vincent Fournols

  • 2901 Posts
  • 4888 Reply Likes
Watching and counting ;)
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16098 Posts
  • 18432 Reply Likes



Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16098 Posts
  • 18432 Reply Likes

Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16098 Posts
  • 18432 Reply Likes
I could do this all day if I had a gumption to. But I'm not a review guy.
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16098 Posts
  • 18432 Reply Likes
Took me 10 minutes. That's 6 an hour and I type with two fingers! LOL
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16098 Posts
  • 18432 Reply Likes
If I had Dragon naturally speaking I could do over a hundred a day.
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16098 Posts
  • 18432 Reply Likes
I could write seventy five reviews today from memory on John Wayne

Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16098 Posts
  • 18432 Reply Likes
1/2 a day for Cruise 30 at least from memory



Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16098 Posts
  • 18432 Reply Likes
Bogart 40
DiCaprio 20
Julia Roberts 30
Morgan Freeman 30
Hepburn Both 40+
Do you see my point. Disparaging someones effort to sit down and put his lifetimes worth of memories to the database is................What?
Photo of Vincent Fournols

Vincent Fournols

  • 2901 Posts
  • 4888 Reply Likes
OK, you get a point. But, with all due respect and do not take it personally: I would not rely on these reviews if I wanted to learn about the movie and how to look at it in a different way from mine :)
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16098 Posts
  • 18432 Reply Likes
Lets say 5 or so years we find ourselves confined to home due to illness and to pass the time we have left we decide to put our lifetimes passion, "Movies" into words for all to read. Not saying that is his scenario. But what if it is? Who are we to "Judge"
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16098 Posts
  • 18432 Reply Likes
Read the whole post. In another section I said I rely on no reviews here now.
Photo of Vincent Fournols

Vincent Fournols

  • 2901 Posts
  • 4888 Reply Likes
But what if it is? Who are we to "Judge"
This is why I stated: "I would (be) very interested to know how he manages it, and therefore how reliable and authoritative his reviews are." !!


Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16098 Posts
  • 18432 Reply Likes
Until there is a way to rate the raters, you wont.
And how is impossible without the old way of direct contact that IMDb removed.
Vince no disrespect. But this topic as far as I am concerned is a no topic any further to me. My two fingers a taxed. My brain is fried. I'm going to Home Depot for some Bolts I need for the Tractor. I have a mile of dirt road that needs grading before it rains.
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16213 Posts
  • 18529 Reply Likes
If you think you are Woodward and Bernstein, your not.
Your more like the Cary Grant character in His Girl Friday.
Oh and that's a Comedy
Cheers
(Edited)
Photo of Benjamin Thomas

Benjamin Thomas

  • 6 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
Jesus, I know.  its hard to make a film, really hard with zero money, so you work on it for years and re edit and re edit until you have something pretty decent.  You've got a lot riding on this,  its impressive, people are noticing it.  Then you open up IMDB so that when it comes out in a few days people can review it.  Then someone rips it apart without even bothering to watch it.  Life sucks, the entire process from writing the script to filming, then editing, then getting distribution was one long pain.  Finally done, film comes out in a few days and it is getting trashed by someone for reasons unknown to me.  Meh, I knew this was my first and last film.  
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3613 Posts
  • 3490 Reply Likes

https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/updates-to-the-ratings-pages-and-functionality
Updates to the Ratings pages and functionality
by Karen, Official Rep
Posted 12 months ago
View all 145 replies and continue this conversation.
- - -

Old list:

https://www.imdb.com/search/title?title_type=feature&num_votes=50000,
Most Popular Feature Films With At Least 50,000 Votes
2,870 titles

https://www.imdb.com/search/title?title_type=feature&num_votes=100000,
Most Popular Feature Films With At Least 100,000 Votes
1,593 titles

https://www.imdb.com/search/title?title_type=feature&num_votes=500000,
Most Popular Feature Films With At Least 500,000 Votes
169 titles
= = =


ccthemovieman-1
IMDb member since December 2004
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4445210/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4445210/ratings - 5,996 titles

thao (Thorkell A Ottarsson: 60 Reviews)
IMDb member since October 2000
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0859635/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0859635/ratings - 6,350 titles

mballardc32 (Michael Ballard: 22 Reviews)
IMDb member since June 2013
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur44122818/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur44122818/ratings - 6,745 titles

gavin6942
IMDb member since June 2001
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1234929/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1234929/ratings - 6,400 titles

weller79
IMDb member since December 2001
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1476871/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1476871/ratings - 6,800 titles

sienel
IMDb member since December 2001
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1503519/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1503519/ratings - 6,889 titles

Filmjack3
MisterWhiplash
IMDb member since March 2000
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0453068/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0453068/ratings - 7,929 titles

Bill-16
IMDb member since January 2000
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0005879/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0005879/ratings - 8,230 titles

tenshi_ippikiookami
IMDb member since July 2005
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur6150112/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur6150112/ratings - 8,570 titles

claudio_carvalho
IMDb member since June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2488512/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2488512/ratings - 8,653 titles

elo-equipamentos (Benedito Dias Rodrigues: 580 Reviews)
IMDb member since June 2012
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur34226907/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur34226907/ratings - 9,780 titles
 
SnoopyStyle
IMDb member since December 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/ratings - 10,120 titles

Lebowskidoo
IMDb member since November 2012
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur37568851/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur37568851/ratings - 10,252 titles

TheMovieSmith
IMDb member since April 2012
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur32931141/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur32931141/ratings - 10,280 titles

LaurenceBranagh
IMDb member since June 2014
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur53223582/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur53223582/ratings - 10,415 titles

benhere
IMDb member since February 2006
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur9536949/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur9536949/ratings - 10,760 titles

TonyLondonUK
IMDb member since January 2012
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur30510678/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur30510678/ratings - 11,033 titles

Leofwine_draca
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0482513/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0482513/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0482513/ratings - 11,720 titles

JohnSeal
IMDb member since January 2000
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0102677/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0102677/ratings - 11,670 titles

Mort & Spunky the awesome cat
IMDb member since June 2000
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0767556/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0767556/ratings - 13,290 titles

TheLittleSongbird
IMDb member since January 2009
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/ratings - 13,850 titles

bkoganbing
IMDb member since June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/ratings - 14,500 titles

darkshyne
IMDb member since May 2005
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur5447903/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur5447903/ratings - 16,100 titles

rlw-43180
IMDb member since December 2017
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur82873564/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur82873564/ratings - 17,096 titles

Horst_In_Translation
IMDb member since September 2004
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur3914439/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur3914439/ratings - 20,900 titles

MartinHafer
IMDb member since June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/ratings - 21,259 titles

Keester
IMDb member since April 2009
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur21010397/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur21010397/ratings - 23,697 titles

Bronco46
IMDb member since May 1999
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0105327/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0105327/ratings - 27,132 titles

sarge-19
IMDb member since October 2000
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0204988/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0204988/ratings - 27,177 titles

cutegirlbutts
IMDb member since November 2012
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur37715747/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur37715747/ratings - 27,237 titles

a-l-e-s-s-a-n-d-r-o93
IMDb member since July 2012
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur35354941/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur35354941/ratings - 28,353 titles

boblipton
Sat Feb 23 2002
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1617546/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1617546/ratings - 32,201 titles


Col Needham, Founder and CEO of IMDb
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1000000/ratings - 11,077 titles
 
.

Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16213 Posts
  • 18529 Reply Likes
Before there was this thing called the internet there was guys like that worked in ......what was it called......hmmmmmmm...Oh yea "NEWSPAPERS. I seem to remember this movie that the Critics hated. Nobody went to see it. Nobody except Kids. Not the target audience. They were looking for the 18-29 Demo naturally. Oh I forgot to mention the Movie!!
The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

You are stressing out over reviews that most people no longer rely on as much as they used to.
15 years ago I relied on this forum. Now I never look at the reviews here at all. Ever. I just watch almost anything based on Genre and if it has a ranking 5.5 or higher. Reviews are useless. Rankings matter. And I never make a determination on weather to watch unless 5,000 or more votes are cast. I usually like 15,000 or more however. But if I like the trailer 5,000 is enough.
Make a really great trailer for your film. People are more into that than reading. They are lazy.
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16213 Posts
  • 18529 Reply Likes

Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16213 Posts
  • 18529 Reply Likes
He IS IMDB Col Needham. I'll bet you he has watched more movies that were made between 1910-1940 than anyone else here. And probably has rated less than 5% of it on TV But it is 11,077 titles.
(Edited)