Click farms adding fake reviews?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 year ago
  • Answered
  • (Edited)
A very average Indian TV series has a 9.8/10 rating with ~11k votes. Definitely looks like a case of hired click farms. Amazon should look into it.

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/

Photo of Owais Lone

Owais Lone

  • 2 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes

Posted 1 year ago

  • 1
Photo of Steve Crook

Steve Crook, Champion

  • 1389 Posts
  • 1757 Reply Likes
Hello Owais,
You might think that it’s “A very average Indian TV series” but maybe 11K users think otherwise.

The IMDb staff (they run this site, not Amazon) should take a look at it as soon a they see your post.

Steve
(Edited)
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3809 Posts
  • 3708 Reply Likes

Sep 24 2018

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/ratings
13,222 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 9.8 / 10
Rate 10 ... 85.4%  ... 11,286 votes

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/reviews?sort=submissionDate
1,380 Reviews

- - -

one of the 1st Users Sep 25 #93072000


Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3809 Posts
  • 3708 Reply Likes

Sep 26 2018

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/ratings
14,318 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 9.8 / 10
Rate 10 ... 85.5% ... 12,241

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/reviews?sort=submissionDate
1,422 Reviews

- - -

one of the 1st Users Sep 26 #93113500

one of the 1st Users Sep 27 #93151000


.

(Edited)
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3809 Posts
  • 3708 Reply Likes

Sep 28 2018

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/ratings
15,189 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 9.8 / 10
Rate 10 ... 85.5% ... 12,984

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/reviews?sort=submissionDate
1,432 Reviews

- - -

one of the 1st Users Sep 28 #93188600

one of the 1st Users Sep 29 #93228200

.

(Edited)
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3809 Posts
  • 3708 Reply Likes

Sep 30 2018

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/ratings
15,419 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 9.8 / 10
Rate 10 ... 85.5% ... 13,182

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/reviews?sort=submissionDate
1,434 Reviews
- - -

one of the 1st Users Sep 30 #93273000

Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3809 Posts
  • 3708 Reply Likes

Mon Oct 1 2018

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/ratings
15,473 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 9.8 / 10
Rate 10 ... 85.5% ... 13,227

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/reviews?sort=submissionDate
1,476 Reviews
- - -

1st User Mon Oct 1 2018 #93319834

Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
For the first time, (and I can't believe I'm saying this) I believe you are right! The series debuted in July on the seventh. Literally there was no reviews at all. Then this one review.... on 9-15
  10/10 College Romance - the timeliners way
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
They were all done in 3 days starting on the 21st. Look at them.
They are there for all to see on the
One review on the 15th
The other 1295 reviews in a three day period!

(Edited)
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
All are brand new members
All have only written one review
All are 10/10
Photo of Marco

Marco

  • 1235 Posts
  • 1548 Reply Likes
The other 1295 reviews in a three day period!

If only there was a way to steer people into the direction of writing an actual review instead of letting them get away with useless utterances like, and I quote, "Pls watch you will be very satisfied" and "Best series I'd ever watched... Waiting for season 2..❤❤" and of course "Loved it mzzaaaaa aaaa gyaaaaa, amazing, dhasu, faadu, jhakass, etc etc, Season 2 ka hi intezar hai."
If anybody has any ideas, please share your wisdom and thoughts, maybe this great movie and tv database can be made even better.

Photo of Vincent Fournols

Vincent Fournols

  • 2901 Posts
  • 4892 Reply Likes
Let us start with a minimum of 200 signs...
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
My Kingdom for 200 signs.....
Photo of Col Needham

Col Needham, Official Rep

  • 6834 Posts
  • 4826 Reply Likes
Thank you for sharing your concern, all we can say about voting is covered in the FAQ at https://help.imdb.com/article/imdb/track-movies-tv/faq-for-imdb-ratings/G67Y87TFYYP6TWAV
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 17986 Posts
  • 20426 Reply Likes
I always argue that this is not possible. I have seen it in black and white. I'm shocked that some one got away with this!
(Edited)
Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 7292 Posts
  • 9540 Reply Likes
Hi, Owais Lone. If you know the URL of where the "click farm" meets up, then let us know.
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
Jeorj's comments were meant to defend the it can't happen side of the argument. I have always had the same position until I saw this.
Every single user in this screenshot is a new user today!
Spoilers have no spoiler material
All are 10/10

Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 7292 Posts
  • 9540 Reply Likes
I don't claim that the idea is implausible. I just want to know more about how it works.
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
Jeorj, don't believe we will ever know this. But my best guess is this. The showrunners of this may have gone to the cast and crew and asked them to create reviews to prove to advertisers that they had a viable project for advertiser investments. There were no reviews of this until this weekends blitz of reviews by new members with only one review. the 18-29 demo group was the target. The most were males. They are trying to court a sponsor/advertiser that wants high demo numbers in this area. Just my educated opinion. Occam's Razor Wise that is!! LOL
The cast and crew have a vested stake too. Their Job's!
(Edited)
Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 7292 Posts
  • 9540 Reply Likes
I get the feeling that they meet up in person in a newsroom style environment (like TMZ) and launch their disguised spam from there, or coordinate via email, thus not leaving a signature on the surface Web.
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
Jeorj, like I said, I don't believe we will ever know how it's done. My hypotheses is the best theory however.
Here LOOK 1305 Reviews now 1387
Same 10/10 All
Same spoilers that are not Spiolers
Same 1 day members

(Edited)
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
This is the perfect argument for some kind of way to identify this somehow.
Look, "Friends" was on for 10 years. It has been seen if how many countries?
It only has 925 Reviews.

Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
Here is a series with only 5 webisodes. On since July
1 Review only on Sept 15....But Zero Reviews all the way back to July
Then all of a sudden on Sept 21 - Sept 23 it gets more reviews than "Friends" full 10 year run!
His referral to click farm is ridiculous. We don't know how it was done.
But it has happened.
I am ALWAYS on the others side of this issue. It can't happen.
Well this is proof....I have been proven wrong.
All you have to do is READ THEM.
Every one with Spoilers has no spoilers!
Very large amounts have excessive use of emoji.
Oh, and almost all the ones with spoilers(About 98%) have Hindi used as a full description or partial.
Just READ them. You will see the patterns I'm describing.
Unless you look and read the reviews please don't try and defend the "It can't happen side"
When you do you'll see.



Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
If the reviews are suspect, how much of the rating are?

Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
Look at the 18-29 group. That's the demo group that helps you sell to advertisers. If you have crappy 18-29 numbers.....no sale!
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
It is obvious the makers of this are cash strapped and need advertising support to continue on.
Here is an example of what real reviews look like. This show has passionate fans.
15 seasons after it was cancelled!!!
There are several reviews just this month alone. This has not aired since 2004
710 reviews.... 217,000 votes

Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
WOW I FOUND A REAL REVIEW
But he is still a one day Member

9/10 Sometimes the best things are for free . delsiddharth24 September 2018
Pros - 1. It's for free and easily available on YouTube. 2. A character named Bagga , player by Gagan Arora just won my heart . 3 .Other characters are all superb except one which will be mentioned later . 4. Episode 3 is great and episode 4th is my fav . 5.Last I would like to mention about College Romance: It is really like wine it gets better after every episode .

Cons : 1. Personally did not like the character named Deepika played by Shreya Mehta . Eventually I was kind of neutral with it when I realised she gets mirgi k daure in btw . 2. A character named Nipun in the 4th episode was just superb . Everyone wants to see more of him .
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?


Report this | Permalink
(Edited)
Photo of Nikolay Yeriomin (Mykola Yeromin)

Nikolay Yeriomin (Mykola Yeromin), Champion

  • 3144 Posts
  • 4144 Reply Likes
How much time it took? 
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
They did 1200 reviews in 3 days. You can look at the dates and see it. It was done so quickly that they stick out like a sore thumb.
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
Another 50 today
Same dialog NONE Just drivel
10/10 mostly
Spoilers that have no spoilers again!
Oh and all are 1 review members

(Edited)
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
More spoilers with no spoilers
10/10 mostly
1 day members mostly
Same incoherent  drivel and horrible grammar.
They have slowed down since the weekend.
Be willing to bet if they are still at it by Friday....we might see another 1200 weekend reviews
https://screenshots.firefox.com/6VMBBnbTHO4WxjPI/www.imdb.com

(Edited)
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
A slow day only 11 reviews.
Spoilers with no spoiler= 1
Majority are new member as of today
10/10
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
A slow day only 19 reviews.
Spoilers with no spoilers again
All are new member as of today
10/10
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
chauhandolly-43891 IMDb member since September 2018
IMDb Member
New user!
  salmanmani-33094 IMDb member since September 2018
IMDb Member
New user!
prajapativishaka IMDb member since September 2018
IMDb Member
1 day
mhnzafrn IMDb member since September 2018
IMDb Member
1 day
mdnizamuddin-66267 IMDb member since September 2018
IMDb Member
1 day
mitanshugoofy IMDb member since September 2015
Lifetime Total
1+

IMDb Member
3 years
tushardevani-32153 IMDb member since September 2018
Lifetime Total
1+

IMDb Member
1 day
imaasif IMDb member since September 2018
Lifetime Total
1+

IMDb Member
1 day
dipv IMDb member since September 2018
Lifetime Total
1+

IMDb Member
1 day
gurnanikarthik IMDb member since September 2018
Lifetime Total
1+

IMDb Member
2 days
Same
Mostly 10/10
Spoilers/No Spoilers






























Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 18041 Posts
  • 20535 Reply Likes
arpanusinha
IMDb member since September 2018
IMDb Member
New user!

baljinders-68311
IMDb member since September 2018
IMDb Member
New user!


Only 2 today.
Maybe they Know we are on to them!
We need Inspector Clouseau on the trail of.........



This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.