Fake Reviews getting constantly more

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 months ago
  • Answered
Hey,
I really love movies and I love(d) this site. I am here since 11 years ago.

I was reading some reviews again today. In this case for this movie (https://www.imdb.com/title/tt7668870/?ref_=nv_sr_1). This is so obvious, at least for a human, that almost all of the reviews are fake. Unfortunately this experience is quite ordinary.

I understand that people try to cheat, because you need less money to make more, but I dont understand why Imdb isn't finding a solution out of this misery? Really?...

I really hope you will find a solution to this plague really soon because this is killing this site, at least for me.

Good luck.
Photo of Tobvias

Tobvias

  • 2 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
  • angry

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Ed Jones(XLIX)

Ed Jones(XLIX)

  • 23311 Posts
  • 27776 Reply Likes
They did not like the way we played in the sandbox. Would you be open to dialog that is a little less over the top? If not that's OK.
Photo of Ed Jones(XLIX)

Ed Jones(XLIX)

  • 23311 Posts
  • 27776 Reply Likes
Could you at least point out the"fake" ones.
Photo of Col Needham

Col Needham, Official Rep

  • 6866 Posts
  • 4909 Reply Likes
Thank you for sharing your concern, all we can say about voting is covered in the FAQ at https://help.imdb.com/article/imdb/track-movies-tv/faq-for-imdb-ratings/G67Y87TFYYP6TWAV

In addition for reviews, we provide several sorting and filtering options so customers can find the reviews which are most relevant to their own needs. In this case it sounds like you would be best using the "Prolific Reviewer" sort, as in https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4912910/reviews?sort=reviewVolume&dir=desc&ratingFilter=0
Photo of Tobvias

Tobvias

  • 2 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Hello Col,

thank you for answering.

I guess you know that some people are using lots of fake votes and review. Usually fake reviews try to push you into the theatre and compare the movie with excellent other movies. There are a lot of hints for fake review beside "I dont like this movie" or "I so in love in this movie".
The concept of wisdom of the crowd is nice but its not working on new movies or really bad movies no one wants to see.

Your answer sounds to me like "we dont care about fake reviews" maybe I get you wrong.

I dont want to bother you anymore, its just pretty sad to me because I cant rely anymore on reviews of IMDB.

Furthermore you will send lots of people into the theater to see crappy movies with "good marketing". That is bad for your karma ;)
Photo of Will

Will, Official Rep

  • 4018 Posts
  • 5223 Reply Likes
Hi Tobvias,

Thank you for sharing your concerns, as Col says you can now sort by Review Rating on title/reviews and user/reviews pages as well as Helpfulness, Review Date, Total Votes and Prolific Reviewer . For example, if you go to the title page user reviews section you can choose the Sort option "Review Rating" and see all reviews that include a rating of 10, 9, etc. You can also sort in the opposite direction by clicking the arrow  and see reviews that include a rating of 1, 2 etc. Unrated reviews always appear at the bottom.

Regards,
Will
Photo of Dolf Jong

Dolf Jong

  • 1 Post
  • 3 Reply Likes
It's 2020 and I too thought the votes were fake, but they are not, they are bought. Well, that also makes them fake I realize now.

It's getting really annoying and frustrating for IMDB users that these fake votes mess up the score and waste their time for what they believed whould be a good movie. So this has a material and an immaterial effect and should be dealt with.

So far my protest against this did not work, so hereby proof, a list of website where marketeers buy their votes:
I Guess IMDB should introduce a system where someone can only gets to vote when registered for a minimum of a year.






Photo of Marco

Marco

  • 1674 Posts
  • 2128 Reply Likes
I know this stuff happens all the time, but it's always hard to see that there are people who only care about themselves and contribute in a negative way to society. They must have had a hard time in their life or something, but they're still wastes of space and air.
I wonder what IMDb can do about this, legally.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 4718 Posts
  • 6320 Reply Likes

Listed 2 times here:
https://buyimdbratings.com
https://buyimdbratings.com
(Can not edit that now)
- - -
   
2 years ago Col Needham, Official Rep &  Will, Official Rep posted replies
May get GS email message with the above by Dolf Jong  from 3 days ago
and post more here ? ?
.
(Edited)
Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 7467 Posts
  • 9898 Reply Likes
I was curious about this. I'm glad to see even a little bit of evidence.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 4718 Posts
  • 6320 Reply Likes

Hey! Jeorj Euler
  
? ?
  
and nothing new here from
  
Col Needham, Official Rep
Replied to an announcement 5 months ago
  
Will, Official Rep
Replied to a question 7 months ago
- - -
  
Tobvias
Oct 10 2018
I was reading some reviews again today. In this case for this movie https://www.imdb.com/title/tt7668870/
- - -

June 25 2020:

Searching (III) (2018)
1,056 Reviews
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt7668870/reviews?sort=submissionDate&dir=desc
  7 in June 2020
12 in May 2020
    
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt7668870/ratings
IMDb Users
126,908 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 7.6 / 10
.

(Edited)