H-E-L-P ... One review missing, what happened?

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 7 months ago
  • Solved
Hello,

Yesterday I had 1381 reviews. Today, only 1380. 

I guess one review has been removed but how and why did that happen? In 8 years, I never had that problem, I had reviews taking many days to get published, some being declined, but once a review was "in the bank", I never had to be worried about a removal.

This is unprecedented and quite alarming because I can't stand the idea that reviews that've been here for many years could be removed 'just like that'... and right now, I can't even tell which one disappeared, and why it did (I didn't get a notice or anything of that sort).

Please, any help of insight would be much appreciated.

ElM.

PS: And allow me to be honest and straightforward; IMDb has been perhaps my only source of fun and satisfaction these last months (which is quite indicative of how dull the rest of my life is) and these problems are not only frustrating but discouraging, not sure I want to waste my energy  anymore if it's for something that can be removed any day.
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3255 Posts
  • 3360 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 7 months ago

  • 1
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3255 Posts
  • 3360 Reply Likes
Well, it seems that my ALIENS review has been deleted. Why? I don't know.
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3255 Posts
  • 3360 Reply Likes
And I guess it had to do with the use of profanity... but it was clear that I used the "b****" word in the context of its own use by Ripley before the climactic confrontation. "Get away from her you b****" unless there was another reason


Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 11970 Posts
  • 13595 Reply Likes
Hey ElMo,
Hope you don't mind me calling you that. It seems everyone else does.
I'll betcha some report this submissions were received.
The inappropriate box specifically.

Photo of Will

Will, Official Rep

  • 3300 Posts
  • 3745 Reply Likes
Hi EIM,

Are you sure it was that title? You have a review from May already live on that title page. If you can provide me with the details of the missing review I can investigate further.

Regards,
Will
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3255 Posts
  • 3360 Reply Likes
My review got deleted again. I don't understand what's going on.

I had an ALIENS review from May 13, 2018. 1 user out of 1 found it useful. The review got deleted yesterday. I figured it was because of the use of the word b*****.

I changed a few words and posted it again. It got quickly approved. Now it is deleted again... I'm supposed to have 1381 reviews and now I have 1380. The new review that should be on the top of my reviews page disappeared.

I don't understand at all.
Photo of Will

Will, Official Rep

  • 3300 Posts
  • 3745 Reply Likes
That's strange, it is showing as live internally but doesn't seem to be displaying on the title. I've now re-enabled your more recent review deleting the older one. Please allow 24 hours for the changes to be reflected on the title page.

Regards,
Will
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3255 Posts
  • 3360 Reply Likes
Thanks
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3255 Posts
  • 3360 Reply Likes
Well, there is still a problem: the new review has been approved and uploaded but the math isn't still there, I still have 1380 reviews while I am supposed to have 1381...my ratings page says the same and I always review wh at I rate... and vice versa.

And I could tell the problem came from the ALIENS review since it was my new version of the review (yesterday) that got deleted today and put the number back to 1380. It's easy to check that.

So if anything is fixed I should have 1381 reviews.

That's really puzzling.

ElM.
Photo of Will

Will, Official Rep

  • 3300 Posts
  • 3745 Reply Likes
As you had 2 reviews on Aliens this makes sense, I've had to remove 1 duplicate review which explains why the count is at 1380.

Regards,
Will
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3255 Posts
  • 3360 Reply Likes
Actually, it doesn't.

If you check my first post, you'll see that normally, I have 1381 reviews. I mentioned that I had 1381 reviews BEFORE I uploaded the second ALIENS. There was no possible case of duplicate when I mentioned that I had 1381 reviews.

On Sunday night, the last review I posted was the first "Harry Potter"
It was on the top of my reviews' page (sorted by date)
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4234119/reviews

If you check my ratings page, you'll see 1381 ratings and all the ratings came with reviews:
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4234119/ratings
And as you can see, "Harry Potter" is on the top.

When I signaled the problem yesterday, I had only 1380 reviews and 1381 ratings. I scrolled down both pages and realized it was the ALIENS one missing (the one from May 13th). I figured it was because I used the word from "Get away from her you....". So I uploaded the review again and got 1381. 

By the way I always keep track of my reviews, so there's no need to ask me if I'm sure, I'm positive that I had 1381 reviews (same as the ratings)

Anyway, yesterday, I found out there's 1380 reviews again and the new ALIENS was removed and "Harry Potter" was back to the top. If it's because someone signaled a duplicate, well that's one hell of a quick time to find out there were two reviews from me, but when I checked on my reviews page, the first ALIENS review was also missing.

So let's make things simpler, on Sunday, which means long before I posted a second ALIENS review, I had 1381. So if I end up with 1380 today, it means there's one review missing, it's as simple as that.

So there's still a problem :)
(Edited)
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3255 Posts
  • 3360 Reply Likes
The link doesn't work and now I have a pretty bad feeling, as if someone was 'signaling' my reviews... right now, I'm trying to find out which review disappeared again because as I said it's been 8 years that I've been reviewing movies and that's the first time I get one "lost", I could believe it was a mistake but two times in a row is bad. 
(Edited)
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3255 Posts
  • 3360 Reply Likes
I could narrow it down to my 10-star rated movies, 386 reviews and 387 ratings... no let's figure how to spot the missing one... 
EDIT: I need help, please.
(Edited)
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3255 Posts
  • 3360 Reply Likes
ACT1

Is it possible to have a list of the movies I rated, and one for the movies I reviewed so I can make a quick comparaison, right now, it's impossible to figure.

2 days ago, everything went fine, I had 1381 ratings and 1381 reviews and absolutely no duplicate and now everything is confusing as hell. Seems like you're pretty handy with statistics and listing so I'd love to have any insights you could provide me.

Thanks in advance :)
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3284 Posts
  • 3098 Reply Likes

ElM.

You already have these. I do not know other links

It was on the top of my reviews' page
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4234119/reviews
If you check my ratings page
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4234119/ratings


http://www.imdb.com/user/ur4234119/comments-deleted
IMDb should fix this as Many users have 'comments deleted ' (a Private list ?)


ElMaruecan82
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4234119/

Wayback Machine
http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.imdb.com/user/ur4234119/

Nothing in 2018 
.

Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3255 Posts
  • 3360 Reply Likes
This is way too frustrating, right now, I don't even want to review anything anymore, what's the point of archiving precious stuff if it can be deleted without any notice? (by precious, I mean we're not talking about comments but about reviews, pieces of substantial work)

The real trouble is that if that problem occurred one year ago, it would have been much easier to spot, you could have a "list" format of the reviews, so a simple game on copy-pasting on Excel could help to identify the missing review.

Now, I have almost 400 titles but there's no way to have a full view on the 400 reviews I rated 10, it's just impossible and I can't think of doing it one by one. 
(Edited)
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3284 Posts
  • 3098 Reply Likes

ElM.
Now, I have almost 400 titles but there's no way to have
a full view on the 400 reviews I rated 10,
it's just impossible and I can't think of doing it one by one.
- - -

I tried  'Grid View & Filter: Rated 10 stars'  to get just the Titles
copied these to Notepad - along with a gazillion blank lines to be deleted!

https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4234119/ratings?sort=date_added,desc&ratingFilter=10&mode=grid&a...

387 (of 1,381) titles

Sin City
Scenes from a Marriage
The Passion of the Christ
La Strada
The Remains of the Day
There Will Be Blood
A Very Long Engagement
Asterix and Obelix: Mansion of the Gods
Back to the Future
Winter Light
What's My Line?
Eyes Wide Shut
My Dinner with Andre
Alien
Amarcord
Blood Simple.
Mary Poppins
Annie Hall
Rocky
...

= = =

You have your reviews saved in Notepad or __  to repost them ? ?

Could be worse for you if you had something like...

planktonrules
MartinHafer
Sun Jun 8 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/ 
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/ratings - 22,200 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/reviews - 22,473 Reviews

- - -

ElMaruecan82's Lists

https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4234119/lists - 899 lists

add ??

- Rated 10 - 387 titles
- Rated  9  - 340 titles
- Rated  8  - 317 titles
- Rated  7  - 192 titles
- Rated  6  -  90 titles
- Rated  5  -  30 titles
- Rated  4  -  17 titles
- Rated  3 -   4 titles
- Rated  2   - 1 title
- Rated  1 -   3 titles

- - -

toptenvotes
IMDb member since August 2012
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur35853930/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur35853930/lists -  4 lists

https://www.imdb.com/list/ls050109729/
TOP 250 MOVIES, SERIES, etc. WITH "10" VOTES - Created 26 October 2012 - 9,997 titles

.

(Edited)
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3255 Posts
  • 3360 Reply Likes
BINGO!

After two hours of intensive research, it turned out to be FROM HERE TO ETERNITY, there were two offensive words that apparently went unnoticed in 2014 when I posted the review, but they were mentioned in a specific context, never mind, I fixed them. 

I got the same message than for ALIENS when I tried to repost the review: "it appears that your submission contains profanity or offensive words, this violates our policy. If you do not edit your submission it will likely be rejected."

But what is it seriously? Is there someone double-checking every single review... or only with an interest on my work... it's pretty likely that many reviews of mine have some loose vocabulary although I do my best to keep it 'clean';;. anyway, here's where I am right now, let's see if tomorrow, i won't wake up with something like 1378 or 1359 review...



yeah, the titles are given in French... and you can check there's no duplicate in the film's review page.
(Edited)
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3284 Posts
  • 3098 Reply Likes

of all the reviews of all the titles - they had to delete yours ?

IMDb Statistics (Sep 2018?)
https://www.imdb.com/pressroom/stats/ 
• Titles:      5,310,913
• Reviews: 3,793,406
.

(Edited)
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3255 Posts
  • 3360 Reply Likes
Seriously, In two days, I got two old reviews deleted because of what seemed to be "offensive" words (why were they approved in the first place then?)

If anything similar happens again tomorrow or today, I'll know it's someone who for some reason is toying with my reviews' account and try to create these little inconveniences... unless there's a real job of filtering old reviews that's being done but we would have heard about it, right?
Photo of Michelle

Michelle, Official Rep

  • 12134 Posts
  • 8386 Reply Likes
Hi EIM -

Please keep in mind that our guidelines evolve and can change over time, if an offensive word was used in an older review, it may not be reported right away, but if reported and our editors determine the word violates our guidelines we will remove it. 

I would encourage you to review our current User Review guidelines to ensure that all new reviews you post conform.  I hope this helps!
(Edited)
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3253 Posts
  • 3356 Reply Likes
I have no problem with that, as a matter of fact, when I reposted the two reviews, i still had to make a few changes, so as long as there's a cause behind the effect, I don't mind. I just wish there could be a way to identify the review is that ever happens again. With hundreds of reviews, you can hardly tell which one is missing.
Photo of IMDbmember

IMDbmember

  • 69 Posts
  • 131 Reply Likes
This is my nightmare.  One's deleted reviews used to be accounted for on one's review page, so you'd know if your reviews were deleted.  Now, I don't know if I'd even notice if one were deleted--maybe they have been for all I know.  I don't read my older reviews as much anymore because it's more difficult to search reviews now.

A while back and by chance, I read one of my reviews and found that supposed inappropriate language (it wasn't, by the way) had been changed by IMDb to something that rendered the statement confusing and grammatically incorrect.  To be fair, though, IMDb may have sent me an email regarding this, although I didn't notice it other than that the review had been approved, not that changes had been made to it.
Photo of Col Needham

Col Needham, Official Rep

  • 6834 Posts
  • 4809 Reply Likes
This is worth noting as a separate idea so we have moved it to one.

Please reference the new conversation here: Add support to track deleted reviews