How many reviews do you need to write to receive the Top Reviewer badge?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 months ago
  • Answered
Hi,

I have written 302 reviews so far and I was just wondering how many reviews do you need to write in order to receive the badge?

Thanks for your help.
Photo of Jackson

Jackson

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 6 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Jackson

Jackson

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Anyone?
Photo of bob the moo

bob the moo

  • 1513 Posts
  • 1489 Reply Likes
Jackson,
It is not a specific number, to get it you must become a prolific reviewer and then the badge, updated monthly, is granted to top 1000 reviewers, which currently corresponds to few hundred reviews.

I track those with over 500 user comments and all of them have it. If I had to guess I'd say you are not too far away from being one of the 1000.

bob
note: I am not staff nor in any way affiliated with IMDb
Photo of Jackson

Jackson

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks for your reply. Does those 500 user comments include starting threads too and is it at the start of each month that it is updated?

Thanks again for your help.
Photo of bob the moo

bob the moo

  • 1513 Posts
  • 1489 Reply Likes
Jackson,
No, the "top reviewer" badge does not include message board posts in their count...and I did not mention 500 as a trigger point, just that I looked at people who have more than 500 reviews and they all had it - and I guess there is only about 100-150 of those users, so you are clearly approaching the base of the pack that have this little badge.

In terms of the point in the month it is updated, this is not stated so i cannot say....

What page are your user comments on?

bob
note: I am not staff nor in any way affiliated with IMDb
Photo of Jackson

Jackson

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Sorry my mistake. Thanks for clearing that up.


Do you mean how many pages are in my posting history? Then it is 16
Photo of cinephile

cinephile

  • 1766 Posts
  • 2615 Reply Likes
For now,  I have seen https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1622466/, he has only 371 reviews, but he has the Top Reviewer badge.
(Edited)
Photo of Ed Jones(XLIX)

Ed Jones(XLIX)

  • 23311 Posts
  • 27775 Reply Likes
That reviewer got their badge a long time ago when it took less reviews to be a top contributor. That person has not really been active since 2013 and wrote the majority of their reviews in 2011 and back.
Photo of cinephile

cinephile

  • 1766 Posts
  • 2615 Reply Likes
But Top Reviewers are only the Top 1000 Reviewers, he would have lost his badge if he wasn't 1000 anymore since it is updated monthly. :)

Top Reviewer Awarded to the top 1000 reviewers, who are recognized for contributing hundreds of reviews.
(Edited)
Photo of Ed Jones(XLIX)

Ed Jones(XLIX)

  • 23311 Posts
  • 27775 Reply Likes
But Top Reviewers are only the Top 1000 Reviewers, he would have lost his badge if he wasn't 1000 anymore since it is updated monthly. :)

I can find no proof of this being updated monthly in any help page or FAQ.
Go to that URL. Read it. No reviews since 2013
(Edited)
Photo of cinephile

cinephile

  • 1766 Posts
  • 2615 Reply Likes
I based on that post where all users seem to think that it is updated monthly: https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/reviewer-badge

They also pointed out that this user VillageVoiceNY has 0 reviews, but have the badge (I believe that he is a Test account).

I also think that you were right and that once you have the "Top Reviewer" badge, you can't lose it, in that case, they should change the description of "Top Reviewer", but for now, no Employees or Official Reps have clearly specified anything about the assignation of the badge.
Photo of Marco

Marco

  • 1670 Posts
  • 2125 Reply Likes
in that case, they should change the description of "Top Reviewer", but for now, no Employees or Official Reps have clearly specified anything about the assignation of the badge.

I sure hope a staffer will respond to this. On the page for badges (https://www.imdb.com/badge/), it states that exactly 1,000 people have this badge. This means that periodically, they'll have to check who are in the top 1,000 and as such, should have this badge. But how often they do this check is not stated.
Photo of Ed Jones(XLIX)

Ed Jones(XLIX)

  • 23311 Posts
  • 27775 Reply Likes
The 1000 I Imagine will fluctuate. You could be a 1000er one week, and not, another week later. Hurts my brain thinking about it!!!! LOL
Photo of 15yearsIMDber aka ElMo

15yearsIMDber aka ElMo

  • 4502 Posts
  • 5376 Reply Likes
Reviewers don't know anything apart from the fact that they have the badge and occasionally, user ACT-1 tells us who's got the top number of written reviews. But there's no ranking published, no way to know where 5000, 2000, 1500, 1000 or 500 stands in that current Top 1000...
Reviews aren't even considered data to begin with...

So all you have to do is "aim for the 500" but don't insist on it, just keep writing, if you focus too much on the badge, it'll affect your writing... I hate the way they allowed short reviews now, anyone can get to 1000 pretty quickly if all  the  reviews consists on one or two sentences. Anyone can get the badge now, but earning it is different.

Good luck!
Photo of Ed Jones(XLIX)

Ed Jones(XLIX)

  • 23311 Posts
  • 27775 Reply Likes
There is also a person that has about ten template reviews.
They are all around four paragraphs long give or take.
They have reused them around 5000 or more times.
They just fill in the appropriate names and do minor tweaks to make it fit the title.
!!!!
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 4694 Posts
  • 6311 Reply Likes
 
You want to see this list again ? ?
 
 
MartinHafer
Sun Jun 8 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/ratings  - 23,485 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/reviews - 23,773 Reviews
 
Michael_Elliott
Sat Nov 25 2006
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/ratings  - 11 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/reviews - 16,398 Reviews
 
TheLittleSongbird
Fri Jan 30 2009
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/ratings  - 16,756 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/reviews - 16,770 Reviews
 
bkoganbing
Sun Jun 15 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/ratings  - 16,272 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/reviews - 16,305 Reviews
 
SnoopyStyle
Dec 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/ratings  - 11,874 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/reviews - 11,747 Reviews
 
Horst_In_Translation
September 2004
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur3914439/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur3914439/ratings  - 22,791 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur3914439/reviews -  9,808 Reviews
 
Hitchcoc
March 1999
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0278527/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0278527/ratings  -  9,759 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0278527/reviews -  9,767 Reviews
 
bob the moo
Mon Feb 19 2001
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1002035/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1002035/reviews - 9,075 Reviews
Deebers with 500+ user comments:
http://www.freewebs.com/bobthemoo/
(list no longer kept up-to-date....sorry)
 
  
claudio_carvalho 
Tue Jun 17 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2488512/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2488512/ratings  - 9,397 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2488512/reviews - 9,015 Reviews
  
nogodnomasters
July 2017
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur77881167/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur77881167/ratings  - 7,494 titles 
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur77881167/reviews - 7,434 Reviews

Col Needham
October 1990
Founder and CEO of IMDb.
Many Badges !!
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1000000/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1000000/ratings  - 12,126 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1000000/reviews - 2 Reviews
.

(Edited)
Photo of Marco

Marco

  • 1670 Posts
  • 2125 Reply Likes
I hate the way they allowed short reviews now,

For those who agree with this, you might want to vote for this Idea: https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/idea-make-sure-reviews-are-reviews-again-minimum-of-50-words...
Photo of cinephile

cinephile

  • 1766 Posts
  • 2615 Reply Likes
I agree with you Elmo, the worst for me is that some reviews aren't actual review, the user is telling us is an opinion, but he doesn't write an explanation, but of course, in that case, we can rank them by pertinence, my opinion is similar to what Marco linked, there should be a minimum of 50 words. Otherwise, some users could simply spam "Bad" or "Great", or copy the same review each time like Ed Jones mentioned. It is obvious that it is hard to avoid to be repetitive when you don't want to spoil, because when you find a movie good, you often relate to the characters, find that the screenplay is deep, etc. In fact, for me, that is the hardest to achieve, to write useful reviews without spoiling anything.

In conclusion, there should be procedures to avoid spam or over short reviews.
(Edited)
Photo of cinephile

cinephile

  • 1766 Posts
  • 2615 Reply Likes
This user has 1302 review, but doesn't own the badge: https://www.imdb.com/user/ur6201371/?ref_=tt_urv

That means that now, you need at least more this 1302 review to earn the badge (that is a lot , I haven't seen 1302 titles!!!!). I need to speed to get more than 1302 reviews before the minimum of reviews goes up.

I don't believe that the badge is easily obtainable now.
Photo of cinephile

cinephile

  • 1369 Posts
  • 1762 Reply Likes
I checked his page again, he now has 1364, but still not the badge.
Photo of IMDbmember

IMDbmember

  • 182 Posts
  • 318 Reply Likes
I have 1,074 reviews and the badge, and I think I've had it ever since I noticed IMDb introduced the badges thing, including long stretches where I didn't submit any new reviews.  I guess I had fewer than 500 reviews those years ago.  Seems clear, then, that IMDb isn't updating it since the above mentioned reviewer has more reviews.

Writing over a thousand reviews isn't hard, though, as those reviews will attest, when each one is no longer than a paragraph (although, granted, that's better than a lot of what IMDb allows nowadays).  A reviewer could "earn" (but not receive since it's not being updated) the badge entirely for "reviews" that IMDb once wouldn't have allowed.

On the opposite end, the only thing that I can think of at the moment that I like about the changes IMDb made to reviews a few years ago or whenever it was now is that you can now write reviews longer than 1,000 words, which I sometimes do and would've saved me from some editing back in the day.
Photo of Jebedia Loven

Jebedia Loven

  • 1 Post
  • 1 Reply Like
Any Update on  How many IMDB reviews do you need to write to receive the Top Reviewer badge?

Photo of Ed Jones(XLIX)

Ed Jones(XLIX)

  • 23311 Posts
  • 27773 Reply Likes
If you look way up at the top of this page, it is marked as "ANSWERED"
IMDb never actually answered this post. But they considered the answers provided by all that cared to reply as that "Answer"
In essence, there will never be an update.
So read all the replies. Your answer is contained within.
Good Luck!
:):)
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 4695 Posts
  • 6311 Reply Likes
Updates to User Reviews
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/update-to-user-reviews
Karen, Employee
Posted 3 years ago (Dec 11 2017)
View all 66 replies and continue this conversation.
.