I’m having an issue with an individual creating multiple accounts and reviewing my unreleased film badly? How can I stop this? Thank you!

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 10 months ago
Merged

This conversation has been merged. Please reference the main conversation: If I remove a film’s page, can I add it again at a later date?

Help!!!
Photo of ricky

ricky

  • 42 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 10 months ago

  • 2
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3624 Posts
  • 3502 Reply Likes

I’m having an issue with an individual
creating multiple accounts and reviewing my unreleased film badly?
by ricky
Joined on December 8, 2018
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/ricky_9lgxwbh8bjdyn
- - -

How are They reviewing your unreleased film here ? ?

- - -

Message from IMDb.com
For Problems or Questions,
please include a link to the page(s) you are referring to if possible.

.

(Edited)
Photo of ricky

ricky

  • 42 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
They haven’t seen the film, it’s only screened in a few festivals. The person doing this contacted me through YouTube, underneath the trailer of the film, and said he believes the good reviews the film revieved through websites are fake. So in turn, he’s going to ruin the IMDb rating to even it out. That is ridiculous! He later deleted his comments, but continues to ruin the film’s rating. He’s posting 10-15 one star reviews a day! It’s killing the film’s rating. This is very detrimental to a small film like mine, especially before it’s even release. How can I stop reviews from being posted all together? At least until its officially released.
Photo of Brutus

Brutus

  • 7 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
You probably won't like what I have to say but as far as IMDb is concerned the film has been officially released.
https://help.imdb.com/article/contribution/titles/release-dates/GVUUDEPJNAW6G35P#
Photo of ricky

ricky

  • 42 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
I understand this. Can change the release date to when it’s adtaully released to stop any new reviews from being posted? Is there any way to stop new reviews from being posted?!
Photo of Brutus

Brutus

  • 7 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
No, once it's screened at a film festival that can't be changed. The film festival screening is the actual release date of the film. Any screening to the public is a release date. Sorry about the bad news.
You can wait for an official response from an IMDb staff member but they will say what I have.
(Edited)
Photo of ricky

ricky

  • 42 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
Wow. So a member with too much time on their hands can just create multiple fake accounts and completely destroy inccocent independent films? There has to be something that can be done besides deleting the entire page.
Photo of Brutus

Brutus

  • 7 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
I can't do anything about fake accounts, I'm a "volunteer little elf helper" on here, you will have to wait for a reply from a IMDb staff member for that sort of help.
All I can tell you as far as IMDb is concerned the film has been officially released.
(Edited)
Photo of ricky

ricky

  • 42 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
I understand. It’s juts frustrating. Thank you! I’m hoping something can be done. I also know who the person doing it is.
Photo of Brutus

Brutus

  • 7 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
Yes sure I understand it is. Staff monitor these boards and someone from staff will help you with the 'fake' accounts.
(Edited)
Photo of ricky

ricky

  • 42 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3624 Posts
  • 3502 Reply Likes

The Fear Footage  (2018)
Release Dates
USA  20 July 2018 (Baltimore, MD) 
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8675532/
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8675532/reference

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8675532/reviews - 74 Reviews

People hate horror if it isn't a remake!!  10/10
bramurry - 8 December 2018
IMDb member since December 8 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur96133203/

Creep factor through the roof!!!  10/10
shadylotts - 7 December 2018
IMDb member since December 7 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur96132739/

Dark and disturbing.  10/10
marginblair - 7 December 2018
IMDb member since December 7 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur96132304/

Loved it!  9/10
bartsonrun - 7 December 2018
IMDb member since December 7 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur96132039/

You can keep your big budget remakes..this is my kind of horror!  10/10
nightlarbon - 7 December 2018
IMDb member since December 7 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur96131835/

Pure Horror  10/10
jerrymerry - 7 December 2018
IMDb member since December 7 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur96131610/

Why all the hate?!  10/10
watkinsg-84686 - 7 December 2018
IMDb member since December 7 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur96130930/

An ending that will scar you....  9/10
jettbarnes - 6 December 2018
IMDb member since December 6 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur96095786/

I wanted to be scared...I was...  9/10
madmanmars - 6 December 2018
IMDb member since December 6 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur96095568/

Found footage horror is back!!!!  10/10
flethystretch - 6 December 2018
IMDb member since December 6 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur96090413/

Best found footage film I've seen since Blair Witch Project!!!   10/10
mostermonster - 6 December 2018
IMDb member since December 6 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur96090022/

Horror on a high level!!    10/10
damienspark - 6 December 2018
IMDb member since December 6 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur96083358/
- - -


Not  reviewers:

viamawashi-61648
IMDb member since December 7 2018 (one of the first Dec 7)
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur96098300

joanareynoso
IMDb member since December 8 2018 (one of the first Dec 8)
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur96133000

.

Photo of ricky

ricky

  • 42 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
The positive reviews are from family and friends. I had to reach out to them to rate the film positively to combat the fake negative reviews.
Photo of ricky

ricky

  • 42 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
I want to stop reviews from being posted. Atleast intl the film is actually released. People writing negative reviews on independent films is a major issue. There is nothing us small filmmakers can do about this issue either. They create fake accounts and kill our films.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3624 Posts
  • 3502 Reply Likes


My short list was Sort by Date

You can add a bunch of bad boys for samples
.

Photo of ricky

ricky

  • 42 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
Bad boys for samples?
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3624 Posts
  • 3502 Reply Likes

Who gave it  a 1/10 ? ?
For the Staff to read
Maybe get their accts disabled and reviews removed

.
Photo of ricky

ricky

  • 42 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
The person doing it has an account as platypuschow. He hasn’t reviewed the film under this account though, he’s made multiple other fake ones to review the film. He’s an avid IMDb user. He thinks he’s the IMDb police. He’s destroying the rating of my film simply because that’s how he spends his time.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3624 Posts
  • 3502 Reply Likes

Not a hater BUT  1/10
pridreslic - 6 December 2018
IMDb member since December 6 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur96063081/

I have never been so bored   1/10
thatgayjeffrey-67072 - 3 December 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur95861707/

The Fear Footage    1/10
zebediahrain - 5 December 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur95986222/

Many others ...

.

Photo of ricky

ricky

  • 42 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
All from the same guy through different accounts. They make it too easy to create multiple accounts.
Photo of ricky

ricky

  • 42 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
That’s him. His life is IMDb.
My film had 17 organic reviews through its screenings through film festivals. The reviews were good. Sitting at 8.2/10. He commented on my YouTube trailer about how the 17 reviews I had were fake, and claimed he was going to destroy the film’s reputation. This begun his negative review rampage through multiple fake accounts. And here we are...
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3624 Posts
  • 3502 Reply Likes

Have you tried  "Report this"  for each ... bad review
with your comments ? ?

I had a list here of about adozen of your 10/10 Reviewers - now Gone!!
.

Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3624 Posts
  • 3502 Reply Likes

Have you tried  "Report this"  for each ... bad review
with your comments ? ?

I had a list here of about adozen of your 10/10 Reviewers - now Gone!!
.

Photo of ricky

ricky

  • 42 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
What do you mean now gone?! The 10/10 reviews are now gone?! And yes, I tried that. Nothing.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3624 Posts
  • 3502 Reply Likes

My above message was posted 2 time - I do not know how

I could not find my list but now I see it -  (͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

I am very confused !!

Do you get a 18-digit number thingy for Reporting a Review ? ? - I never done did that

Photo of ricky

ricky

  • 42 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
Yea. I got some emails verifying the reports. I doubt they’ll do anything about them though. I’m at the mercy of a loser with too much time on his hands.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3624 Posts
  • 3502 Reply Likes

IMDb should be able to see the
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IP_address
and that  50 Users that recently registered have the same
and posted ___ reviews for one title ? ?
.

Photo of ricky

ricky

  • 42 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
Exactly!! That’s what I’m hoping. Some of the good reviews will have the same up address aswell because I had to reach out to people that I know and ask them to positively review the film a few times to combat this negative onslaught. ALL of the reviews with the same IP address should be deleted though.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3624 Posts
  • 3502 Reply Likes
Could be helpful if a Staffer read all this

Find one on another message and send him here: Official Rep or  Employee

https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/details

.
(Edited)
Photo of ricky

ricky

  • 42 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
Let’s hope. Thanks for your help. This happens to small films like mine more then people realize.
Photo of Brutus

Brutus

  • 7 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
Just in case you hadn't noticed it was released @ Edmonton Festival Of Fear International Film Festival 2018
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8675532/awards?ref_=tt_awd
https://edmontonfestivaloffear.com/awards/
Photo of ricky

ricky

  • 42 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
Yes, the film has been playing at festivals. But this guy hasn’t seen the film. Hes sabotaging it! I’ve been having to ask all my family and friends to review it positively just to combat his constant negative reviews.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.