Live Poll: Movies I Wish Roger Ebert Reviewed

  • 2
  • Praise
  • Updated 4 months ago
  • (Edited)
During his final years, legendary four-star critic Roger Ebert became both more prolific and selective: he reviewed movies he wished to see, but it didn't diminish the quantitative value of his writings just as disease and a permanent loss of voice didn't diminish their qualitative merit. You could agree or disagree with him, you would always enjoy his writing.

Thumbs down on that sad day of April 4, 2013 when Ebert left the world, an unparalleled legacy and also a taste of deception because we knew there were many great movies and classics to come, movies he would have enjoyed, some even more at the twilight of his life, movies from directors he respected and admired... but that he would never review, forever.

Which of these movies released less than a year after his death or at his lifetime but that (strangely enough) he didn't review, would you have most loved to see reviewed by the late Roger Ebert?

https://www.imdb.com/list/ls022918402/

https://www.imdb.com/poll/7kSReXJssM0/

(this poll adresses those who liked to know Ebert's take on a film before or after watching it, not everyone was or is still addicted to his website, if that's the case, the last option is for you.
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3255 Posts
  • 3359 Reply Likes

Posted 11 months ago

  • 2
Photo of Stephen N Russell

Stephen N Russell

  • 826 Posts
  • 1204 Reply Likes
12 Yrs Slave, Saving Mr Banks, Gravity, The Butler, Philomena, & these: Doc Savage, Intersteller, Iron Man 1-3, 
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3227 Posts
  • 3323 Reply Likes
Interstellar was released on October 2014, more than a year after Ebert's death.
Added Iron Man 3.
As for Doc Savage, maybe the film came too early in Ebert's career and isn't known enough in the first place. I meant highly acclaimed or famous movies that for some reason, he never reviewed
Photo of Kyle Perez

Kyle Perez

  • 2110 Posts
  • 1168 Reply Likes
I'd be interested to see if he liked Rush (which got a less than enthusiastic response on his website) but also Wolf just because of his affinity for and friendship with Scorsese. AND Mary and Max because of all its emotion...

Man, I would've love to see his responses on all of these and then some. Miss the guy and his mind.
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3227 Posts
  • 3323 Reply Likes
I like how he's always benevolent with Scorsese's movies, I know reviews aren't supposed to be subjective but I didn't like The Departed and Ebert was ecstatic, I hated Shutter Island, he praised it, and while I thought Hugo was just Marty emulating Spielberg, Ebert believed it was the closest film to his heart... maybe he knew him more than he did, more than we think we know Scorsese but it's weird how he was ready to embrace anything he made, he truly was his number one fan.

I wish Ebert could finally see his friend Marty getting back to roots with Wolf and give a review where I could be in the same pitch. I don't think he would have disliked it at all. 
Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 6714 Posts
  • 8342 Reply Likes
Hugo is way too much of (or way too close to being) an art house movie to really feel like an emulation of Spielberg's work. Plus, it had almost zero comic relief.
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3227 Posts
  • 3323 Reply Likes
Well, I meant the big-scale big-budget production special-effect driven film. And Sacha Baron Cohen wasn't exactly a sinister character in the film ;)
Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 6714 Posts
  • 8342 Reply Likes
Got it, I think.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3284 Posts
  • 3098 Reply Likes

.

Roger Ebert
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0001170/bio
Estimated he saw well over 10,000 films in his lifetime.
- - -

SnoopyStyle
IMDb member since December 2003
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/reviews - 10,070 Reviews

TheLittleSongbird
IMDb member since January 2009
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/reviews - 14,149 Reviews

bkoganbing
IMDb member since June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/reviews - 14,723 Reviews

Michael_Elliott
IMDb member since November 2006
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/reviews - 16,211 Reviews

Michael Elliott
Joined on December 12, 2017
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/michael_elliott_9fdrv5i88v7ua

MartinHafer
IMDb member since June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/reviews - 22,078 Reviews

- - -

Horst_In_Translation
IMDb member since September 2004
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur3914439/
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur3914439/ratings -  20,965 titles

MartinHafer
IMDb member since June 2003
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/ratings - 21,808 titles

Keester
IMDb member since April 2009
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur21010397/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur21010397/ratings - 23,753 titles

Bronco46
IMDb member since May 1999
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0105327/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0105327/ratings -  27,203 titles

sarge-19
IMDb member since October 2000
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0204988/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0204988/ratings - 27,284 titles

cutegirlbutts
IMDb member since November 2012
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur37715747/
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur37715747/ratings - 27,261 titles


Col Needham, Founder and CEO of IMDb
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur1000000/ratings - 11,137 titles
- - -


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roger_Ebert
Best films of the year:



Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3234 Posts
  • 3344 Reply Likes
I wonder how can someone review 22000 movies, even if I wanted to review every AFI listed movie, every Oscar highlight, every Best Picture nominee, every IMDb Top 250 nominee from any year, every cartoon of Tom and Jerry, Tex Avery, Bugs Bunny, Donald Duck or Goody, every episode of the Simpsons or Friends, I don't think I'll get to 3000 reviews. 
And 20000 represent 54 years, which means you should work on at least 4 reviews every day of the year for15 years,or at least 5 reviews a day for 10 years, so it can't possibly movie reviews... I think I'll feel lucky if I ever get to 2000 some day.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3284 Posts
  • 3098 Reply Likes


Movies I Wish Roger Ebert Reviewed
by ElMaruecan82
IMDb member since November 2004
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4234119/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4234119/reviews - 1,324 Reviews
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4234119/ratings - 1,324 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4234119/lists -  854 lists

- - -

@ ElM.

Yes:

MartinHafer
IMDb member since June 2003 : IMDb Member 15 years
22,085 Reviews in 15 years = 1,473 a year = 4 a day

Works as a Projectionist at the local Multiplex/Megaplex movie theater ? ?

A typical AMC Theatres megaplex
with 30 screens at the Ontario Mills in Ontario, California.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multiplex_(movie_theater)

- - -

Check on these listed above (and others) that Review and Rate movies each day ? ?


(Edited)
Photo of Dan Dassow

Dan Dassow, Champion

  • 12748 Posts
  • 12862 Reply Likes
ElM,

I dearly miss Roger Ebert's reviews. Even when I vehemently disagree with his assessment of a film, I enjoy the review regardless.

I fully understand that you are using Life Itself (2014) as a none-of-the-above option, it would have been intriguing for Ebert to review the film.

Of the films actually under consideration in your poll, I find these two films would produce the more interesting Ebert reviews: Boyhood (I) (2014) and Her (2013).
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3255 Posts
  • 3359 Reply Likes
Oh my God, I would have loved to read his take on Boyhood if only because he considered the "Up" documentary by Michael Apted one of his all-time best screen-experiences, would have he loved Linklater's film all the same or be more critical... we'll never know.
Photo of Stephen Atwood

Stephen Atwood

  • 894 Posts
  • 514 Reply Likes
Mostly, I was exposed to his reviews via his television series with Gene Siskel and to a lesser extent Siskel's many replacement reviewers after his passing away.
With all due respect, I rarely or never read any of his reviews.
Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 6754 Posts
  • 8446 Reply Likes
Maybe people generally preferred to read one-sentence excerpts of his reviews. Ha.
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3246 Posts
  • 3352 Reply Likes
You're really missing something... even when you disagree with him, his reviews are pleasant to read. Sometimes more than pleasant...

I know time is precious, but if you have five-six minutes sometime, try his reviews of The Usual Suspects, Dead Poets Society, Freddy Got Fingered and North.

For positive comments, anything from Scorsese will do.
Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 6754 Posts
  • 8446 Reply Likes
ElM. His review of North is uninteresting, in my humble opinion.
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3246 Posts
  • 3352 Reply Likes
Come on, it can't be! His review is the only thing that still brings interest on the film after many years where it could have simply faded into oblivion... if only because of what his "I hated hated hated etc." accomplished, it can't be uninteresting or that uninteresting. Now, you want something uninteresting.


I hurt myself today while cutting my toenails.


See, THAT'S uninteresting :) 
Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 6754 Posts
  • 8446 Reply Likes
Faded into oblivion?
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3246 Posts
  • 3352 Reply Likes
don't tell me it's not proper English lol, I used that expression in many reviews
Photo of albstein

albstein

  • 648 Posts
  • 1304 Reply Likes
I'm curious about this, too.
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3255 Posts
  • 3359 Reply Likes
Photo of Dan Dassow

Dan Dassow, Champion

  • 12748 Posts
  • 12862 Reply Likes
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 3255 Posts
  • 3359 Reply Likes
And now we know that 10% of IMDb voters don't read his reviews (which means 90% actually do)
Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 6758 Posts
  • 8451 Reply Likes
90% of the voters who click on polls about Roger Ebert, at least.

(Edit: The message was jacked from somebody else's deleted post.)
(Edited)
Photo of Dan Dassow

Dan Dassow, Champion

  • 12748 Posts
  • 12862 Reply Likes
Congratulations ElMaruecan82 on your 551st live poll! As of 28-Feb-2019 5:10 AM Pacific your polls have 1,040,561 or more votes, for an average of 1,888 votes per poll.

Movies I Wish Roger Ebert Reviewed
7458th Live Poll: https://www.imdb.com/poll/7kSReXJssM0/
Seen:
http://www.imdb.com/seen/ls022918402/

This is the 3,348th Title poll. Such polls have a total of 8,002,719 votes for an average of 2,390 votes per poll.
Total Number of Votes			16,919,538
Projected Date of 20 Million Votes	20-May-2020
Days Until 20 Million Votes		446
This is the list of ElMaruecan82's polls as of 21-Feb-2019:

Sorted Alphabetically http://mypollwatch.blogspot.com/2014/05/imdb-polls-alphabetical-by-author.html#ElMaruecan82

In Decreasing Order of Votes http://mypollwatch.blogspot.com/2015/03/imdb-polls-descending-order-of-votes-by.html#ElMaruecan82

Alphabetical List of Polls http://mypollwatch.blogspot.com/2014/03/imdb-polls-alphabetical.html

Top IMDb Polls http://mypollwatch.blogspot.com/2015/07/top-imdb-polls.html

IMDb Polls - Descending Order of Votes http://mypollwatch.blogspot.com/2013/12/imdb-polls-descending-order-of-votes.html

Summary Statistics http://mypollwatch.blogspot.com/2016/05/summary-statistics.html

Key Threads - IMDb Poll FAQs Index https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/faq-key-threads-imdb-poll-faqs-index

How to Improve the Chance of Having your Poll on the Home Page https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/faq-how-to-improve-the-chance-of-having-your-poll-on-the-hom...