Reviews interface improvement idea

  • 5
  • Idea
  • Updated 5 days ago
  • Implemented
The new format for showing Reviews is maturing and I'm getting used to it. 

However, there is one thing which appears to have gotten lost in the redesign, and I want to draw yr attention to it. Furthermore, I can recommend an easy "fix". 

The old design allowed the User to "cut" (for subsequent "paste"-ing) a URL to a specific review for a specific movie. 

This was nice. Back then, I could embed the aforementioned URL elsewhere on social media if folks wanted to see my standard take on a flick. 

It wouldn't be hard to reinstate this. The common way this is done elsewhere is via a "permalink" clickable/right-click-->"save link" link. 

It shouldn't be terribly difficult to add this to the current reviews interface. 

Thanks for reading this far! Hope you find the idea appealing and worth implementing. 
Photo of Ron Zajac

Ron Zajac

  • 5 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes

Posted 3 months ago

  • 5
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 1448 Posts
  • 893 Reply Likes

Reviews interface improvement idea
The old design allowed the User to "cut" (for subsequent "paste"-ing)
a URL to a specific review for a specific movie.
by Ron Zajac
Joined on September 20, 2016
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/ron_zajac
- - -

That would be "Copy" not "Cut"...

This May get merged with:


https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/update-to-user-reviews
Updates to User Reviews
Posted Dec 11 2017
by Karen, Official Rep

MartinHafer
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/reviews - 21,794
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/ratings - 21,530


(Edited)
Photo of bderoes

bderoes, Champion

  • 832 Posts
  • 966 Reply Likes
I suggested the same thing over here in February:
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/update-to-user-reviews?topic-reply-list[settings][filter_by]...

Since 200 people follow that thread, I've posted this Idea's link in that thread, and encouraged voting here.
Photo of bderoes

bderoes, Champion

  • 832 Posts
  • 966 Reply Likes
My suggestion in the Update to User Review thread was (and is):
Will we get the ability to have a URL for each review, some sort of permalink?
I would like to reference one particular review, and cannot assume it will always be number n on page p.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 1448 Posts
  • 893 Reply Likes

“Will we get the ability to have a URL for each review,
some sort of permalink?
I would like to reference one particular review,
and cannot assume it will always be number n on page p.
by bderoes, Champion

- - -

? ?

Can not have Page numbers with all the different ways to Sort
Perhaps a Serial Number as it was added

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2379713/reviews
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2379713/reviews/007


The same way Titles and Names and Users are added


(Edited)
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 1448 Posts
  • 893 Reply Likes

Permalink would be helpful on Users Reviews
which are not always easy to find on the Title Reviews
- - -

TheManWithTheGoldeneye
IMDb member since March 2015
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur59508989/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur59508989/reviews
Spectre (2015)
Quintessential Bond.
10 November 2015 - 58 out of 115 users found this review helpful.
- - -

Spectre  (I) (2015) 
Daniel Craig   ...  James Bond 
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2379713/
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2379713/reference
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2379713/reviews
1,075 Reviews


(Edited)
Photo of bderoes

bderoes, Champion

  • 832 Posts
  • 966 Reply Likes
ACT_1
I don't understand what point you are trying to make by posting links to the user "TheManWithTheGoldeneye" and his sole review. 

I definitely understand the point of asking for individual pages of review rather than the Load More button, but that would seem to be its own Idea, worthy of its own thread, not directly what this thread is about. 
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 1448 Posts
  • 893 Reply Likes

Finding a User then finding a Review on his page

it is not easy to find That review on the Title page of reviews

if not on Top of one of the Sort lists

I just grabbed this one for  sample

- - -

I just deleted my month old Message about Page Numbers v [ Load More ]

No replies on the Idea Board with 10,000 Polls on top of it

Photo of bderoes

bderoes, Champion

  • 832 Posts
  • 966 Reply Likes
ACT_1:
I doubt that many users try to find ideas by scanning down a list. 

I would think they'd search for what they want, and post their own idea when they don't find it. Unfortunately the GetSatisfaction search engine is very superficial; I think it only indexes words in the Title of the thread. 

I've added some tags to this thread to help it get found: "review link" "review permalink" and "review url". Something useful I can do as Champion, but which really should be available to the thread's author too.
Photo of bderoes

bderoes, Champion

  • 832 Posts
  • 966 Reply Likes
I have forked the comment that began the off-topic discussion here to a new thread.
The link "here" takes you to the new thread. The off-topic posts have been removed from this thread and pasted in there.
(Edited)
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 1448 Posts
  • 893 Reply Likes

My Star Wars samples had "permalinks" for Trivia etc
for "How to Do Review Permalinks" as asked about above


Photo of Faterson

Faterson

  • 14 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
This is essential functionality that should be restored. See: https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topi... Basically a duplicate request, but this one is worded generally in the title, so I didn't notice it, nor did the software suggest it to me while I was composing the other problem report.
Photo of Faterson

Faterson

  • 14 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Restore Permalinks to Our Individual Reviews.

Please restore the permalinks to our individual reviews posted over the years. All the permalinks to our individual reviews from previous years are dead now.

I have now set up a new blog and will need to copy all of my reviews from IMDb to the new blog if you don't fix this. If I'm unable to link to my individual reviews posted to IMDb, it no longer makes sense for me to post any new reviews here at all.

Thank you for your help.
Photo of apaternite

apaternite

  • 7 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
I really hope this gets more love. Being able to link to individual reviews seems like such an obvious feature. Until then, there's no way you can share a review you just made.
Photo of Ron Zajac

Ron Zajac

  • 5 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
Y'know, I can see one reason IMDb hasn't retained this functionality.

Organizations go thru cycles, and IMDb is entering their "monetization"/"cost recovery" phase. Continuing to offer this kind of service does them (as they see it) little good and a small but significant cost.

The "little good" it does is that it does afford them a smidgen more exposure on other social media, as any embedded URL with an "imdb.com" in it naturally would.

The cost is that they get more hits from the hoi polloi; free-riders who enjoy the surface-level benefits of the IMDb, but don't pony up for the professional service. Why should they pay for that additional bit of wear/tear on their servers to dish up some free-loaders' User Comments on movies and TV shows? Why should that be on *their* nickel?

The IMDb folks did that bit of cost/benefit calculus and found the retaining of that functionality wanting.

In short: Tho I miss this functionality, I'm not holding my breath. I thought I'd chime in mostly because I just wanted them to know that at least ONE person noticed it went missing.
(Edited)
Photo of apaternite

apaternite

  • 6 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
I disagree that it has anything to do with cost. IMDb is owned by Amazon, a company that literally sells server space. It's in their best interest to get more traffic because every page contains advertising. The cost of their web server whipping up the page is negligible. 

IMDb probably didn't think much of it to begin with, given that they haven't added any major features in over a decade. However, I wish they'd give it more thought. Their only real competitor (RottenTomatoes) also doesn't allow individual links to reviews which would make IMDb the only major site with this feature. This combined with a better review ranking algorithm and the ability to follow other users would have a snowball effect that could turn into a social site where people can actually get noticed for writing great reviews. More people using the site = more $ for them. It blows my mind that no other company has successfully done this yet.
(Edited)
Photo of Ron Zajac

Ron Zajac

  • 5 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
<sigh> You've... convinced me. Honestly. (and thx for your graciousness in doing so.)
Photo of Faterson

Faterson

  • 14 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
Sorry, Ron, but what IMDb did to us as a community is outrageous and inexcusable. You contribute for years to an online community, and then someone just comes along and destroys that? There's no rationalisation that can possibly justify that. I'm referring not just to the killing of all the permalinks to our individual reviews posted over many years here (so, for example, any Facebook or Twitter shares of our reviews from previous years now lead to a dead end, destroying our online archives), but also to the senseless, brutal killing of all IMDb message boards. Just wiping them away, with many years, or should I say decades of valuable content in them, besides the usual sparring.

Months have passed now, but I'm still in shock over what IMDb has done to us. Amazon is only a little better, succumbing to the illness of political correctness by now failing to show the ratio of helpful vs. unhelpful votes below reviews – only helpful votes are displayed now, which is useless. I'm afraid IMDb will follow suit.

I have just set up a new website, kritik.avenarius.sk, and I will be transferring all my IMDb reviews from previous years to it. IMDb just gives me no other option. As others have remarked, if there is no way for you to link to a review you have just created and posted to IMDb, it's as if the review didn't exist. So why bother at all?
(Edited)
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 1390 Posts
  • 828 Reply Likes

I have just set up a new website, kritik.avenarius.sk,
and I will be transferring all my IMDb reviews from previous years to it
by Faterson
Joined on March 25, 2018
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/alexanderavenarius
- - -

So, post a link to Your User Name Profile and and WE can read your IMDb reviews
You will get more people reading your reviews on IMDb than on a new website

https://www.imdb.com/pressroom/
IMDb is the world's most popular and authoritative source
for movie, TV and celebrity content.
The IMDb consumer site (www.imdb.com) is the #1 movie website in the world
with a combined web and mobile audience
of more than 250 million unique monthly visitors.

other reviewers...

bkoganbing
IMDb member since June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/reviews - 14,535 Reviews

Michael_Elliott
IMDb member since November 2006
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/reviews - 16,100 Reviews

MartinHafer
IMDb member since June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/reviews - 21,838 Reviews


Photo of Ron Zajac

Ron Zajac

  • 5 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
As much as I basically agree that IMDb is morphing into something somewhat less appealing to good-natured movie lovers who just want to share perspectives, I'll never fault the IMDb folks *a whit* for doing away with the message boards. I know that I (and I suspect you) approached these boards with fine intentions, but 1) it surely consumed an outsized proportion of storage while 2) surely consisting of more than 50% drek.

It was sad to see the boards go, but very, very easy to see why it was wise for them to pull the plug.

That said, it would *still* (I think) be wise for them to get those permalinks on individual reviews up and running. I don't see as much drek among individual reviews, and I think it would continue to give the IMDb folks a little more exposure.
(Edited)
Photo of Faterson

Faterson

  • 14 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
ACT_1, it's useless. If even I can't quickly locate my own reviews to individual movies, it's a no-go. You know, over the years, I've been sharing my reviews all over the place – via Facebook, Twitter, and other means – and all of those links are dead now. I look like a buffoon now in many places over the Internet, I'm sure. How could IMDb do this to us, destroying all those permalinks? No matter how much it pains me to have to set up my own website to be able to continue writing reviews, I just see no other option. And how can you trust IMDb not to do something similar in future? If they could kill all the permalinks to our reviews, and wipe away the entire message boards, can you really trust IMDb not to start randomly deleting our reviews, too, later on? My trust is gone, sorry.

Ron Zajac, in every message board, there's lots of drek, especially if it fails to get properly moderated, which again is something that IMDb is responsible for, rather than the users. But if you say the boards consisted of 50% of drek, that means that perhaps 40% was valuable content. So how can you ever justify deleting such a huge amount of valuable content? The boards were huge, and even if only 20% of the content in them were useful, that' s a huge amount of useful information. Above all, it shows utter disrespect towards users who took lots of time and trouble to contribute to the boards over a couple of decades, and now all their efforts have been erased. You see, if you take the Internet as a whole, I'm confident that perhaps far more than 50% of content in it is drek. But are you going to abolish the Internet because of that? Nope, that would be nonsensical. Unfortunately, that kind of twisted "logic" was applied to the message boards here.
(Edited)
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 1390 Posts
  • 828 Reply Likes

ACT_1, it's useless. If even I can't quickly locate my own reviews to individual movies,
by Faterson
- - -

IF someone can find one of your reviews here they can click on your name
to see your Profie page and see your list of other IMDb reviews
http://www.imdb.com/profile

so,  hey!
Add a link to your New Site of reviews on your IMDb Profile page
(with the date started)

and add some of your comments that you posted here
- - -

Message Boards started May 7 1999
New Message Boards started Aug 6 2002
about 266,164,000 messages were posted Aug 6 2002 ... Feb 20 2017

IMDb Message Boards Announcement:
We have decided to disable IMDb's message boards on February 20, 2017.
This includes the Private Message system
Boards Closure FAQ
https://help.imdb.com/article/imdb/new-features-updates/boards-closure-faq/G5HU888HZYE8LF79
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/imdb-message-boards



Photo of Faterson

Faterson

  • 14 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
ACT_1, I'm not sure how exactly I'll be proceeding but it's certain that IMDb has ceased to be my main site for posting movie reviews. If I can't link back to each specific review I post, for example for sharing purposes on Facebook or Twitter, such a site is unusable for me. You know, I'm not worrying about the immediate present, but I'm thinking long-term. I hope to write many more reviews in future, and I need the ability to link back to each of my reviews with a single link (and click). That's a non-negotiable.

By the way, there's a difference between "disabling" message boards (that would be regrettable, but still tolerable) and erasing (!) message boards with all the content posted there by users over a couple of decades. That is inexcusable and indefensible. If IMDb still owns a backup of the message boards, they should definitely restore it online somewhere, perhaps apart from the main site, so that users can at least passively consult discussions from the past on the various movies, if they wish to do so. Like I replied to Ron, there was lots of drek in the boards, but also lots and lots of valuable content.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 1448 Posts
  • 893 Reply Likes
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/advanced-search-function
advanced search function
It would be a very handsome feature if you could specifically search for User Reviews
to a specific movie and filter by Users who have also written Reviews
for a defined set of other movies...
Posted May 24, 2018
by John Doe
Joined on May 24, 2018
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/john_doe_98w0kc7g8ubig


Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 1427 Posts
  • 1239 Reply Likes
The following is a bookmarklet (or script code prefixed with a out-syntax scheme identifier) which, when used on an IMDb user review listing page, will reveal the URL of each individual review item there listed.
javascript:
(
function()
{
var d=document,
a=d.querySelectorAll("div.imdb-user-review"),i,
c="imdb-user-review-permalink",
e,n,l;
for(i=0;i<a.length;i++)
{
e=a[i].querySelector("div.actions");
if(e.querySelector("a."+c))
continue;
n=d.createTextNode(" | ");
e.appendChild(n);
n=d.createElement("a");
l=a[i]
.getAttribute("data-vote-url")
.replace(/^\/title\/tt\d+(\/review\/rw\d+)\/vote\/interesting$/,"$1");
n.setAttribute("href",l);
n.innerHTML="Item";
e.appendChild(n)
}
}
)
()
If you know what a bookmarklet is, then you already know what to do, otherwise to "install" the tool, you would highlight the aforementioned source code (a JavaScript URI), copy it (to the clipboard) and paste it into URL field of a browser bookmark, whether already existing or newly created.

To use a bookmarklet, you "visit" it while having the particular webpage (in all of the Web) as the active tab in your browser. You don't need to understand JavaScript or any scripting language to use a bookmarklet.

The properly-encoded URI for that same source code is javascript:(function(){var%20d=document,a=d.querySelectorAll("div.imdb-user-review"),i,c="imdb-user-review-permalink",e,n,l;for(i=0;i<a.length;i++){e=a[i].querySelector("div.actions");if(e.querySelector("a."+c))continue;n=d.createTextNode("%20|%20");e.appendChild(n);n=d.createElement("a");l=a[i].getAttribute("data-vote-url").replace(/^\/title\/tt\d+(\/review\/rw\d+)\/vote\/interesting$/,"$1");n.setAttribute("href",l);n.innerHTML="Item";e.appendChild(n)}})(); by the way. I previously presented this with line breaks and indentation to make it easier to read and thereby easier to understand, which in turn helps a semi-experienced individual screen it for malicious script behavior and errors in the flow of control that could unintentionally cause problems with resource allocation on any computer on which it is executed, meaning that trusting me would not be requisite for understanding that the script is safe.
Photo of apaternite

apaternite

  • 7 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
This is awesome! Thanks!

I didn't know IMDb had a dedicated page for specific reviews. This gives me ideas.
Photo of Prismark10

Prismark10

  • 7 Posts
  • 7 Reply Likes
The review interface is awful and not fit for purpose.

The alphabetical sorting has a mind of its own. My last film on alphabetical index in reverse is xXx2 than anything with Z.

The worst thing is. IMDBs IT experts just need to pick on someone who has done thousands of reviews and test the various functions. They will soon find it does not work.
Photo of Col Needham

Col Needham, Official Rep

  • 5672 Posts
  • 2446 Reply Likes
The old design allowed the User to "cut" (for subsequent "paste"-ing) a URL to a specific review for a specific movie. 
This has now been implemented, thanks. 

To view an individual review, simply click the review title.  To copy the URL of a review, click on the "Copy link" label under the review.  For example from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5580390/reviews?sort=reviewVolume&dir=desc&ratingFilter=0 (see red highlighting)



which will lead you to or will copy -> https://www.imdb.com/review/rw4063416/
Photo of apaternite

apaternite

  • 7 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
Thanks Col!