Reviews submissions taking more time than usual to be published...

  • 3
  • Question
  • Updated 1 month ago
  • Answered
Hello,

Is there something new about the way reviews are being managed? It's not usual that the majority of reviews posted within a month should take 2 days to get approved, when they get approved.

I've written like 20 reviews in the past 2 months, in March everything was okay but 8 or 9 out of the 12 reviews I've written since April took 2 days to be published. As a matter of fact, 2 of them were declined first and I had to rewrite them. This one was posted 3 days ago and it's still pending: #200510-170822-590304

I didn't change my writing style, I do my best to avoid ambiguous statements that flirt with controversial subjects even though one bit of a sentence taken out of context can be offensive, so I don't understand what's happening. Now I feel lucky if a review gets published the same day. Back then in the 2010s, you got your review almost immediately (with a few exceptions).

Am I the only one in that case?
Photo of 15yearsIMDber aka ElMo

15yearsIMDber aka ElMo

  • 4405 Posts
  • 5178 Reply Likes

Posted 2 months ago

  • 3
Photo of Ed Jones(XLIX)

Ed Jones(XLIX)

  • 23073 Posts
  • 27331 Reply Likes
I'd be willing to bet that the COVID-19 thing that has people cooped up at home for the last 2 months has given people the extra time to write reviews out of boredom! So there is likely an increase in review submissions. With IMDb staff working from where ever and an over stressed internet bandwidth slowing down response times the data editors can only work as fast as that bandwidth will allow along with those extra submissions.
:):)
(Edited)
Photo of 15yearsIMDber aka ElMo

15yearsIMDber aka ElMo

  • 4405 Posts
  • 5178 Reply Likes
I thought about that. It seems plausible.
Photo of cinephile

cinephile

  • 1197 Posts
  • 1534 Reply Likes
You are not alone, I noticed that too.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 4598 Posts
  • 6176 Reply Likes
Here is a chunk o SPAM for you ...
  
? ?
 
More Users each day so more of everything added to IMDb each day ? ?
  
Wed Jan 01 2015 https://www.imdb.com/user/ur57552225 
Fri Jan 01 2016 https://www.imdb.com/user/ur64615153  7,062,928 Users registered 2015
Sun Jan 01 2017 https://www.imdb.com/user/ur70933611   6,318,458 Users registered 2016
Mon Jan 01 2018 https://www.imdb.com/user/ur83883667  12,950,065 Users registered 2017
Tue Jan 01 2019 https://www.imdb.com/user/ur97158312  13,274,645 Users registered 2018
Wed Jan 01 2020 https://www.imdb.com/user/ur111821900 14,663,588 Users Registered 2019
  
  
1,300,918  Registered Jan 2020
Sat Feb 01 2020 https://www.imdb.com/user/ur113122818
 
1,099,239 Registered Feb 2020
Sun Mar 01 2020 https://www.imdb.com/user/ur114222057
 
1,457,412 Registered Mar 2020
Wed Apr 01 2020 https://www.imdb.com/user/ur115679469
 
1,957,541 Registered Apr 2020
Fri May 01 2020 https://www.imdb.com/user/ur117637010
  
  
118,354,500 Users now
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur118354500

(Edited)
Photo of Elizabeth

Elizabeth, Employee

  • 1056 Posts
  • 1736 Reply Likes
Hi there, thanks for reaching out. Not all information submitted reflects on IMDb immediately, and the amount of time it takes can vary. Thanks for your patience. 
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 4598 Posts
  • 6175 Reply Likes
 
? ?
 
Data Processing Times:
https://contribute.imdb.com/times
.
Photo of Ed Jones(XLIX)

Ed Jones(XLIX)

  • 23050 Posts
  • 27317 Reply Likes
Not a single person here does not know about that data processing times page.
Stop spamming please.
Photo of IMDbmember

IMDbmember

  • 148 Posts
  • 241 Reply Likes
Seems to me the amount of time for a review to be approved has always varied, but there do seem to have been changes made in rejections.  I've had an uptick in them.  Never had any for 15 or whatever of my first years using this site, then I got maybe a couple last couple years with it becoming more regular recently.