Updates to User Reviews

  • 11
  • Announcement
  • Updated 3 weeks ago
  • (Edited)
Today we are announcing changes to User Reviews as part of the broader site update announcement (https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/upcoming-changes-to-several-imdb-features-du6man1opd5q0). After in-depth discussion and examination, we have decided to simplify the features and functionality for reviews as follows:

  • “Your Reviews” are now ordered by Date and reviews on each Title sub page are ordered by Helpfulness.We will continue to update functionality in the new year, starting by bringing back the ability to sort reviews from newest to oldest/oldest to newest. We appreciate your patience as we continue to improve the overall experience.
  • We have removed the Index view. 
  • We updated the way that reviews with spoilers are displayed.
Additionally, on our iOS and Android apps, you can now browse all reviews for a movie or show, as well as see which reviews were voted most helpful. In the next few days we’ll be updating the Review contribution experience, which will be the foundation to enabling mobile users to write and post reviews in the near future. For more information about Reviews, see the IMDbHelp Center.

Karen
Photo of Karen

Karen, Official Rep

  • 94 Posts
  • 123 Reply Likes

Posted 1 year ago

  • 11
Photo of Edgar Soberón Torchia

Edgar Soberón Torchia

  • 8 Posts
  • 10 Reply Likes
I had not received any update of new comments. Is IMDb going to reintroduce the index of our reviews? I check every now and then, perhaps weekly, but it's still the same endless, alphabetical continuum of the review texts, not simply the titles. If I want to find one review, now it takes me ages, or I just simple give up...
Photo of Brett Harrison

Brett Harrison

  • 12 Posts
  • 22 Reply Likes
I also check regularly in the hope of finding that index view has returned. PLEASE DO THIS, IMDB!!!!!
Photo of Col Needham

Col Needham, Official Rep

  • 6208 Posts
  • 3395 Reply Likes
Official Response
A further update ... we have restored the option to view / link individual reviews:

To view an individual review, simply click the review title.  To copy the URL of a review, click on the "Copy link" label under the review.  For example from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5580390/reviews?sort=reviewVolume&dir=desc&ratingFilter=0 (see red highlighting)



which will lead you to or will copy -> https://www.imdb.com/review/rw4063416/
Photo of Michael Elliott

Michael Elliott

  • 5 Posts
  • 22 Reply Likes
I'm also curious if an easier way is coming back to find reviews.  I'm trying to make copies of my reviews in case they eventually go away here so I'm going through the "load more" but it is VERY slow and I'm just at 100 of 16,000+ so I can only imagine it getting much worse as I go further along.  Anyone know a better way?
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 2357 Posts
  • 1852 Reply Likes

I'm trying to make copies of my reviews in case they eventually go away here
so I'm going through the "load more" but it is VERY slow
by Michael Elliott
Joined on December 12, 2017
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/michael_elliott_9fdrv5i88v7ua
- - -

Save them in Notepad before you add them here ?
- - -

Col Needham, Official Rep
Jan 10 2018
•Fix “Load more” functionality on Internet Explorer [DONE]
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/update-to-user-reviews?topic-reply-list[settings][filter_by]...
- - -

There is more chat about “Load more” in this thread (Search for it?)
- - -

a few others with many Reviews to save (?)

bob the moo
IMDb member since Feb 2001
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur1002035/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1002035/reviews  - 8,844 Reviews

bob the moo
Joined on December 21, 2012
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/bobthemoo

claudio_carvalho
IMDb member since June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2488512/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2488512/reviews - 8,527 Reviews

Horst_In_Translation
IMDb member since September 2004
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur3914439/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur3914439/reviews - 8,518 Reviews

SnoopyStyle
IMDb member since December 2003
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/reviews - 9,991 Reviews

TheLittleSongbird
IMDb member since January 2009
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/reviews - 14,010 Reviews

bkoganbing
IMDb member since June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/reviews - 14,663 Reviews

Michael_Elliott
IMDb member since November 2006
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/reviews - 16,175 Reviews

MartinHafer
IMDb member since June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/reviews - 21,970 Reviews



(Edited)
Photo of Michael Elliott

Michael Elliott

  • 5 Posts
  • 22 Reply Likes
Yes, I'm doing that going forward but there are still thousands of reviews that I have posted here that I need to copy down.  Going through the "load more" process just isn't a very easy task.  The Index and expanded mode would have been much more help since I could just copy and past them that way.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 2357 Posts
  • 1852 Reply Likes

@ Michael Elliott

There is chat in here about replacing "Load More"  with Page numbers
That would make it easier to return another day to continue saving your reviews
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/discussion-on-posting-ideas

like
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/discussion-on-posting-ideas?topic-reply-list[settings][filte...


https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/discussion-on-posting-ideas?topic-reply-list[settings][filte...


You want to start a new "Change [Load More] to Page Numbers" topic ?


(Edited)
Photo of Prismark10

Prismark10

  • 12 Posts
  • 12 Reply Likes
I am having the same issues. Those of us who have written several thousands of reviews, the load more function is useless.

the redesign had in mind someone who might have written a few hundred reviews at the most.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 2357 Posts
  • 1852 Reply Likes
Prismark10                         
I am having the same issues.
Those of us who have written several thousands of reviews, the load more function is useless.

? ?

Prismark10
IMDb member since January 2005
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4569900/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4569900/reviews - 3,871 Reviews

Photo of M v

M v

  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
What happened to being able to leave reviews using the imdb app?? I see that in the original post, written more than 7 months ago, leaving reviews in the app was listed as one of the additions to be made, yet it never was... nor was it mentioned again. Honestly, this is something that should have already been available LONG ago, it's kind of absurd that it isn't. How is this justified over at the imdb offices?
Photo of Karen

Karen, Official Rep

  • 91 Posts
  • 120 Reply Likes
Hi M v@  You can now write reviews from both IMDb mobile apps (iOS and Android)
Photo of IMDbmember

IMDbmember

  • 50 Posts
  • 82 Reply Likes
Does IMDb replace words in reviews?  I read that reviews "may be edited to conform to the guidelines," but I've never noticed or suspected this before now in my posting of 500+ reviews over the years.  In one of my reviews, I suspect my use of the word "genital" was changed to "bits."  This doesn't make any sense to me, although it wouldn't make sense to me how I would've changed it to that, either, between writing the review in a document I saved and posting it on IMDb.  Correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't believe "genital" is vulgar slang or a word that IMDb should censor.

Anyways, if IMDb does do this, please, at least, inform the member via email of the edits.  The censorship doesn't even bother me so much as the word change makes my statement in the review unclear and grammatically incorrect.  So, if IMDb does do this, please also write better.
(Edited)
Photo of Mark W

Mark W

  • 18 Posts
  • 72 Reply Likes
I checked out a review that I posted a few days ago and found out that it was declined through the E-Mail status link. I have never had a review declined in my 18 years of posting the review, so I re-submitted it, changing one word (which had never been cause of a decline before), and it was approved within 10 minutes. While I was glad to find out that it had been declined rather than just end up in the cloud never to know, it makes me wonder, if somebody reports a review and it gets deleted, how do you know that it is no longer there? I had one review deleted before all the changes and found out only by accident, copied it from my personal document containing all of my reviews, and altered it. Before, you could see if you had deleted any reviews or if one was deleted, and now that is no longer there. Hoping this comes back so our work doesn't just vanish one day without us being notified. With the way society is getting so offended over the use of a simple word even in something as innocuous as an IMDb review, I wouldn't be surprised if there aren't thousands of reviews out there simply because some sensitive soul got offended and wanted to play SJW. 
Photo of Brett Harrison

Brett Harrison

  • 12 Posts
  • 22 Reply Likes
I had a review for Misery declined the other day: I deleted the phrase 'heavy set' which I used to describe Annie Wilkes and deleted the words 'cock-a-doodie' (one of her sayings). It was then accepted.

I've also had one of my reviews amended by IMDb.

I don't mind but it does seem strange what they object to.
Photo of Prismark10

Prismark10

  • 12 Posts
  • 12 Reply Likes
I think IMDB must have some  kind of automated filter that is flagged when certain words are used.
Photo of IMDbmember

IMDbmember

  • 50 Posts
  • 82 Reply Likes
IMDb must've expanded their "naughty" words list, because I'm not "getting away" with some words I used to.  I just had two reviews rejected for, I believe, the word "bastardize."  At least, the reviews were posted when I replaced that term.  In other words, I suspect IMDb has "adulterated" their guidelines.
(Edited)
Photo of Prismark10

Prismark10

  • 12 Posts
  • 12 Reply Likes
They do replace words that might be deemed to be offensive even marginally. I have had one or two changed in my submitted reviews although I thought there was nothing wrong with them.
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 2586 Posts
  • 2174 Reply Likes
This "declining" stuff is really worrying me, I had two reviews declined lately so I tried to fix whatever I could deem as potentially 'offensive' but I wish the website could be more specific about the reason why it was declined instead of just inviting us to check the "guidelines", many of us are long-time reviewers so it's not like we're not familiar with them
Photo of Mark W

Mark W

  • 18 Posts
  • 72 Reply Likes
I too recently had two reviews declined, the first time in my 20 years on IMDb with over 5000 reviews. The guidelines apparently have changed (slightly) as well as I have noticed in reviews I have written necessary words to express the theme of a particular film or TV series. My concern is old reviews of mine being deleted because of these slightly changed guidelines (somebody had to approve them 5-10 years ago) and not ever finding out. I have most of my old reviews copied into a word document, so you can imagine how big that file is, but for users who have a passion for writing reviews, it can be frustrating to find your reviews deleted. I make the subtle changes in the declined reviews to get them through, but I do wish there was a list of unacceptable words to be used in reviews outside the obvious curse words and various slurs that anybody with common sense wouldn't use.  
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 2463 Posts
  • 1942 Reply Likes


just adding this here -- better place ? move it ...

This review should be posted as a message on GS ??

tovergirl
IMDb member since August 28 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur91744000/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur91744000/reviews

Stay Here (2018– )
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8773338/
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8773338/reference

10/10 
28 August 2018
Does anyone from the producers gives any feedback on all this reviews?
There are many points on the reviews, that I am also wondering,
that I will like to know.
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw4308657/


Photo of Jrneptune

Jrneptune

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
I understand the new process for Reporting a User Review, could a fifth option be added to remove the rating given to the review if the movie had not been aired yet or the reviewer had not seen the movie? Active Measures 2018 is a clear example. The movie was aired yesterday but 28 were done before it aired.
Photo of Prismark10

Prismark10

  • 12 Posts
  • 12 Reply Likes
Active Measures might had been released on 31 August but there could been previews or special showings or shown in film festivals.

I once attended a film preview in Hollywood Boulevard for a movie that was released some weeks later.
Photo of David Chester

David Chester

  • 8 Posts
  • 10 Reply Likes
I'm not 100% sure if this is right category to post in, but: I've noticed that some recent User Reviews have become little more than two-sentence rants. People who have nothing of value to say are posting reviews... for what purpose? They are not thought out, they are not intelligent, they are filled with spelling and grammatical errors. How does this benefit the community? I saw one recently where someone who hated a particular movie copied and pasted his/her hateful sentence 10 times and submitted that as a review. I reported it. Will it change anything? I'm thinking not. 

On one hand, I realize IMDB staff do not have all day to sit and proofread everything that comes in, nor verify if the review is worth posting. On the other hand: where is the criterion for posting? Doesn't it include parameters? I can't seem to find that information anymore. If it exists, it doesn't seem to make any difference. 

I also saw what I can only call "haters" reviews for "Crazy Rich Asians" -- the reviews were racist, vile and hateful. Am I suppose to report each one? 

IMDB used to be a fun place to come to read user reviews (with Roger Ebert gone, there really are only a few "pro" critics that I read, since the "pro" ones that IMDB offers seem to mainly be people who give their blogs names and somehow end up getting their reviews listed under Critics' Reviews). But now, I am seeing so many awful, rambling, misspelled, grammatically incorrect messes that all the joy of reading reviews is gone. I'm better off just posting reviews on my own website. 

Does anybody monitor the quality of reviews on IMDB? And if not, why not? Because it would take too much time? 
Photo of IMDbmember

IMDbmember

  • 50 Posts
  • 82 Reply Likes
Hear, hear!  IMDb used to have a minimum required length for reviews (as well as a max limit of 1,000 words), but removed this among other things when changing to a supposedly more-smart-phone friendly format.  Now, is it not only more difficult to navigate through thousands of reviews for films or from individual reviewers, but the review sections are also polluted with reviews of not even a paragraph's length or not even one coherent sentence.  I don't care to see a bunch of people simply posting "I liked it" and "I hated it," either.  That's not interesting or useful information.

The racist reviews are another matter, and I'm sure that's just an issue of IMDb not being able to monitor everything at all times.  I'm sure they find it important to delete that stuff; heck, they got rid of the message boards largely because of such posts.
Photo of David Chester

David Chester

  • 8 Posts
  • 10 Reply Likes
I didn't realize that's why they got rid of the message boards. How sad that people must be so hateful that we lose many things that could have been of value. 
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 2586 Posts
  • 2174 Reply Likes
I'm in the same wavelength than all users who expressed their concerns about the new reviewing system. I sincerely try to approach the matter as neutrally as possible and I'm not judging those who make these one-sentence reviews but there is a movie on IMDb with many reviews from 2018 and here are some:

"It's great movie for ever and I love it from beginning to end"

"This film unforgettable! This film i can watched indefinitely!"

"One of my favorite movies since i was a teenager, amazing performance & story."

I am sorry but these are not reviews, these are reactions, plain reactions, they give absolutely no specific insight about the film, no analysis, no criticism. Reviewing is a passion for many of us but I'm not sure I would have started this had I read these on IMDb back then in the 2000s.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not talking about the length, Pauline Kael made many reviews that didn't take more than 100 words but she went straight to the point and expressed a sharp and well-expressed opinion.

Maybe we should get back to the old system? Because at this track, anyone can make it to the Top Reviewer if it all it takes is "one enthusiastic sentence".
(Edited)
Photo of Kate Brown

Kate Brown

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
The new format for reviews (on approx.11/8/18) is very hard to read. The font is so small & pale. We're not all 18 you know. ;-)
Photo of Col Needham

Col Needham, Official Rep

  • 6167 Posts
  • 3315 Reply Likes
We have not recently changed the format, sorry.   This is likely to be a local issue, please try the steps on https://help.imdb.com/article/imdb/general-information/why-is-imdb-displaying-differently-on-my-brow... and let us know what happens. 
Photo of IMDbmember

IMDbmember

  • 50 Posts
  • 82 Reply Likes
With 2018 nearing an end, two major things, as I see it, still need to be changed/reverted back to regarding reviews.

1. Revert back to a longer minimum length for reviews, like IMDb used to have, so that they're actually reviews and not reactions as short as a sentence or less.  I think anything less than a decent paragraph is worthless clutter.

2. Reintroduce an index, or at least additional sorting options such as by first letters of titles and by years, for user review pages.  It's impractical now to look through reviews by users who have written hundreds, thousands or tens of thousands of reviews.

Say a movie has 5,600+ and counting reviews such as "The Last Jedi."  if a reviewer isn't one of the most prolific of prolific reviewers (as in will appear on first page, maybe two, of that search option), then there's little chance I'll bother looking further for it.  There's absolutely no chance I'd try to search for it on the user's review page if they have hundreds or more reviews and if the title doesn't begin with a letter at the very beginning (actually, a number, since they appear first) or end of the alphabet.

Both of these problems kind of go hand in hand, as it's about trying to get past all of the rubbish postings to read thoughtful reviews, which are proportionally declining.  IMDb is surely receiving more "reviews," but I'm reading less of them because of these problems.  I also wonder with an increase in such poorly-written "reviews" whether it's only a matter of time before their clutter becomes as much of a policing problem as the message boards were, resulting in the removal of the function entirely.
Photo of DREAM_WEAVER

DREAM_WEAVER

  • 3509 Posts
  • 3289 Reply Likes
You mean like Netflix already has. Removing the reviews.
1500 Minimum Characters,
Or 250 Words.
Use spell check filter auto rejection software.
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 2586 Posts
  • 2174 Reply Likes
You're absolutely right. It took me like half an hour to write a review for "Bohemian Rhapsody" and it depressed me that the leading review (so to speak) took in only one sentence, and one that says:

I dont know how to elaborate more than this. If you are 35 and younger, you will understand after seeing this movie.

Well, if that's a review (apparently 472 users found it useful) then I'm wondering what I've been doing these last years, philosophical essays? I don't mean to sound pompous but these one-sentence (or two) reviews really undermine the efforts of us who've tried to be constructive and insightful... not to satisfy our egos but out of respect for IMDb and the users who'll check reviews before watching a film.

Seriously, it's not even the length, some reviews say nothing substantial about the film, they're just reactions. Such reviews can be copy-pasted for 100 movies in one day, users can be in the Top Reviewer section in less than a week, but for what contributions?

Please, let's get back to the old rules.



(Edited)
Photo of IMDbmember

IMDbmember

  • 50 Posts
  • 82 Reply Likes
Yeah, I don't think it'd be too difficult to become one of the most prolific reviewers by merely posting brief reactions that hardly say anything beyond "I liked" or "hated this."  It looks like that's basically what BatmanFunReviews2018 has done, although their comments even manage to be longer than those of many others.

I'm also pretty sure that IMDb already doesn't check every review before it's posted.  Surely nobody approved this dandy of an IMDb review:

"Jævla drittfilm. Hadde heldigvis ei flaske aquavit til å hjelpemeg å se ferdig"

One result of this is that I can write a review nearing 1,000 words, and, if it's for a mainstream movie currently in theatres, it may take a couple days for it to be approved, by which time it'll be buried under a multitude of reactions of only a couple sentences or fewer each.  And it'll likely never be read again by another.

Edit: The spell check filter mentioned by CliffJ above is a good idea, too, which I believe IMDb used to employ.  I remember I used quite a few French words in a review long ago (for a French film, of course), and it was rejected for it, which I was fine with.
(Edited)
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 2463 Posts
  • 1942 Reply Likes


IMDbmember :
It looks like that's basically what BatmanFunReviews2018 has done
- - -

BatmanFunReviews2018
IMDb member since July 2013
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur45215448/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur45215448/ratings - 7,482 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur45215448/reviews - 7,350 Reviews

See more:
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/bot-putting-automated-bad-reviews-on-films

= = =

Kundali Bhagya  (2017- )
Country: India
Language: Hindi
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt7147670/
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt7147670/reference
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt7147670/reviews

https://www.imdb.com/review/rw4456716/
Chutya mandli
heenachoudhary-6906213 - November 13 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Bhart Ka nhi puri duniya ka sabse boring sabse ghatiya serial he ye

heenachoudhary-69062
IMDb member since November 13 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur95160000/
.

(Edited)
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 2586 Posts
  • 2174 Reply Likes
Well, what can we do?

At least I save every review I write just in case... and I guess there's still the possibility to sort reviews by "prolific reviewers" but even that parameter won't help much when users will become prolific by copy-pasting one-sentence reactions as reviews.
Photo of Col Needham

Col Needham, Official Rep

  • 6208 Posts
  • 3395 Reply Likes
Photo of classicsoncall

classicsoncall

  • 10 Posts
  • 16 Reply Likes

It's been a while since I visited this thread, so I apologize in advance for bringing up a topic that may have already been dealt with. I have two questions.

Is the topic of indexing for individual user reviews a dead issue? Being able to see a complete list of titles (and only the titles) one submits a review for was very valuable to me.

Secondly, here are both the 'descending' and 'ascending' alphabetical listing of titles I've reviewed, and one can see that neither one is accurately stated.

https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2707735/reviews?sort=alphabeticalTitle&dir=desc&ratingFilter=0

https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2707735/reviews?sort=alphabeticalTitle&dir=asc&ratingFilter=0
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 2586 Posts
  • 2174 Reply Likes
Sometimes, a picture can speak a thousand words, here's a simple comparaison between one movie released at the end of 2017, and one at the end of 2018.

 I sorted the reviews by date so we can have for each film the first written reviews, it speaks for itself (another discovery is that the one that's been on IMDb for a year has less than 1000 reviews, the one that's been here for less than two months has almost 1500)

I think it all comes down to the quantity vs. quality equation. I'm not even blaming those who wrote these one-sentence reactions, since it's allowed... and in one week you have hundreds of users who rated your "review" useful... bu when you check the accounts behind these reactions, it's like some users only registered for the sake of reviewing that particular film, they're not regulars.

I'm not worried right now, I'm worried for the next two years. All regular reviewers will become invisible and sorting reviews by "author prolificness" will be useless and there'll come a point where IMDb will realize the reviews don't serve any purpose after all and will remove them, I can see that coming and I just wish it doesn't happen. Some reviews are here from 1999, almost 20 years!