Updates to User Reviews

  • 10
  • Announcement
  • Updated 2 weeks ago
  • (Edited)
Today we are announcing changes to User Reviews as part of the broader site update announcement (https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/upcoming-changes-to-several-imdb-features-du6man1opd5q0). After in-depth discussion and examination, we have decided to simplify the features and functionality for reviews as follows:

  • “Your Reviews” are now ordered by Date and reviews on each Title sub page are ordered by Helpfulness.We will continue to update functionality in the new year, starting by bringing back the ability to sort reviews from newest to oldest/oldest to newest. We appreciate your patience as we continue to improve the overall experience.
  • We have removed the Index view. 
  • We updated the way that reviews with spoilers are displayed.
Additionally, on our iOS and Android apps, you can now browse all reviews for a movie or show, as well as see which reviews were voted most helpful. In the next few days we’ll be updating the Review contribution experience, which will be the foundation to enabling mobile users to write and post reviews in the near future. For more information about Reviews, see the IMDbHelp Center.

Karen
Photo of Karen

Karen, Official Rep

  • 77 Posts
  • 98 Reply Likes

Posted 9 months ago

  • 10
Photo of Edgar Soberón Torchia

Edgar Soberón Torchia

  • 8 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
I had not received any update of new comments. Is IMDb going to reintroduce the index of our reviews? I check every now and then, perhaps weekly, but it's still the same endless, alphabetical continuum of the review texts, not simply the titles. If I want to find one review, now it takes me ages, or I just simple give up...
Photo of Brett Harrison

Brett Harrison

  • 12 Posts
  • 22 Reply Likes
I also check regularly in the hope of finding that index view has returned. PLEASE DO THIS, IMDB!!!!!
Photo of Col Needham

Col Needham, Official Rep

  • 5947 Posts
  • 2902 Reply Likes
Official Response
A further update ... we have restored the option to view / link individual reviews:

To view an individual review, simply click the review title.  To copy the URL of a review, click on the "Copy link" label under the review.  For example from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5580390/reviews?sort=reviewVolume&dir=desc&ratingFilter=0 (see red highlighting)



which will lead you to or will copy -> https://www.imdb.com/review/rw4063416/
Photo of Michael Elliott

Michael Elliott

  • 5 Posts
  • 22 Reply Likes
I'm also curious if an easier way is coming back to find reviews.  I'm trying to make copies of my reviews in case they eventually go away here so I'm going through the "load more" but it is VERY slow and I'm just at 100 of 16,000+ so I can only imagine it getting much worse as I go further along.  Anyone know a better way?
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 1809 Posts
  • 1265 Reply Likes

I'm trying to make copies of my reviews in case they eventually go away here
so I'm going through the "load more" but it is VERY slow
by Michael Elliott
Joined on December 12, 2017
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/michael_elliott_9fdrv5i88v7ua
- - -

Save them in Notepad before you add them here ?
- - -

Col Needham, Official Rep
Jan 10 2018
•Fix “Load more” functionality on Internet Explorer [DONE]
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/update-to-user-reviews?topic-reply-list[settings][filter_by]...
- - -

There is more chat about “Load more” in this thread (Search for it?)
- - -

a few others with many Reviews to save (?)

bob the moo
IMDb member since Feb 2001
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur1002035/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1002035/reviews  - 8,844 Reviews

bob the moo
Joined on December 21, 2012
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/bobthemoo

claudio_carvalho
IMDb member since June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2488512/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2488512/reviews - 8,527 Reviews

Horst_In_Translation
IMDb member since September 2004
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur3914439/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur3914439/reviews - 8,518 Reviews

SnoopyStyle
IMDb member since December 2003
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/reviews - 9,991 Reviews

TheLittleSongbird
IMDb member since January 2009
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/reviews - 14,010 Reviews

bkoganbing
IMDb member since June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/reviews - 14,663 Reviews

Michael_Elliott
IMDb member since November 2006
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/reviews - 16,175 Reviews

MartinHafer
IMDb member since June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/reviews - 21,970 Reviews



(Edited)
Photo of Michael Elliott

Michael Elliott

  • 5 Posts
  • 22 Reply Likes
Yes, I'm doing that going forward but there are still thousands of reviews that I have posted here that I need to copy down.  Going through the "load more" process just isn't a very easy task.  The Index and expanded mode would have been much more help since I could just copy and past them that way.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 1809 Posts
  • 1265 Reply Likes

@ Michael Elliott

There is chat in here about replacing "Load More"  with Page numbers
That would make it easier to return another day to continue saving your reviews
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/discussion-on-posting-ideas

like
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/discussion-on-posting-ideas?topic-reply-list[settings][filte...


https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/discussion-on-posting-ideas?topic-reply-list[settings][filte...


You want to start a new "Change [Load More] to Page Numbers" topic ?


(Edited)
Photo of Prismark10

Prismark10

  • 11 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
I am having the same issues. Those of us who have written several thousands of reviews, the load more function is useless.

the redesign had in mind someone who might have written a few hundred reviews at the most.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 1809 Posts
  • 1265 Reply Likes
Prismark10                         
I am having the same issues.
Those of us who have written several thousands of reviews, the load more function is useless.

? ?

Prismark10
IMDb member since January 2005
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4569900/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4569900/reviews - 3,871 Reviews

Photo of M v

M v

  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
What happened to being able to leave reviews using the imdb app?? I see that in the original post, written more than 7 months ago, leaving reviews in the app was listed as one of the additions to be made, yet it never was... nor was it mentioned again. Honestly, this is something that should have already been available LONG ago, it's kind of absurd that it isn't. How is this justified over at the imdb offices?
Photo of Karen

Karen, Official Rep

  • 77 Posts
  • 98 Reply Likes
Hi M v@  You can now write reviews from both IMDb mobile apps (iOS and Android)
Photo of IMDbmember

IMDbmember

  • 12 Posts
  • 16 Reply Likes
Does IMDb replace words in reviews?  I read that reviews "may be edited to conform to the guidelines," but I've never noticed or suspected this before now in my posting of 500+ reviews over the years.  In one of my reviews, I suspect my use of the word "genital" was changed to "bits."  This doesn't make any sense to me, although it wouldn't make sense to me how I would've changed it to that, either, between writing the review in a document I saved and posting it on IMDb.  Correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't believe "genital" is vulgar slang or a word that IMDb should censor.

Anyways, if IMDb does do this, please, at least, inform the member via email of the edits.  The censorship doesn't even bother me so much as the word change makes my statement in the review unclear and grammatically incorrect.  So, if IMDb does do this, please also write better.
(Edited)
Photo of Mark W

Mark W

  • 12 Posts
  • 68 Reply Likes
I checked out a review that I posted a few days ago and found out that it was declined through the E-Mail status link. I have never had a review declined in my 18 years of posting the review, so I re-submitted it, changing one word (which had never been cause of a decline before), and it was approved within 10 minutes. While I was glad to find out that it had been declined rather than just end up in the cloud never to know, it makes me wonder, if somebody reports a review and it gets deleted, how do you know that it is no longer there? I had one review deleted before all the changes and found out only by accident, copied it from my personal document containing all of my reviews, and altered it. Before, you could see if you had deleted any reviews or if one was deleted, and now that is no longer there. Hoping this comes back so our work doesn't just vanish one day without us being notified. With the way society is getting so offended over the use of a simple word even in something as innocuous as an IMDb review, I wouldn't be surprised if there aren't thousands of reviews out there simply because some sensitive soul got offended and wanted to play SJW. 
Photo of Brett Harrison

Brett Harrison

  • 12 Posts
  • 22 Reply Likes
I had a review for Misery declined the other day: I deleted the phrase 'heavy set' which I used to describe Annie Wilkes and deleted the words 'cock-a-doodie' (one of her sayings). It was then accepted.

I've also had one of my reviews amended by IMDb.

I don't mind but it does seem strange what they object to.
Photo of Prismark10

Prismark10

  • 11 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
I think IMDB must have some  kind of automated filter that is flagged when certain words are used.
Photo of IMDbmember

IMDbmember

  • 12 Posts
  • 16 Reply Likes
IMDb must've expanded their "naughty" words list, because I'm not "getting away" with some words I used to.  I just had two reviews rejected for, I believe, the word "bastardize."  At least, the reviews were posted when I replaced that term.  In other words, I suspect IMDb has "adulterated" their guidelines.
(Edited)
Photo of Prismark10

Prismark10

  • 11 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
They do replace words that might be deemed to be offensive even marginally. I have had one or two changed in my submitted reviews although I thought there was nothing wrong with them.
Photo of ElM.

ElM.

  • 2264 Posts
  • 1751 Reply Likes
This "declining" stuff is really worrying me, I had two reviews declined lately so I tried to fix whatever I could deem as potentially 'offensive' but I wish the website could be more specific about the reason why it was declined instead of just inviting us to check the "guidelines", many of us are long-time reviewers so it's not like we're not familiar with them
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 1830 Posts
  • 1285 Reply Likes


just adding this here -- better place ? move it ...

This review should be posted as a message on GS ??

tovergirl
IMDb member since August 28 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur91744000/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur91744000/reviews

Stay Here (2018– )
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8773338/
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8773338/reference

10/10 
28 August 2018
Does anyone from the producers gives any feedback on all this reviews?
There are many points on the reviews, that I am also wondering,
that I will like to know.
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw4308657/


Photo of Jrneptune

Jrneptune

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
I understand the new process for Reporting a User Review, could a fifth option be added to remove the rating given to the review if the movie had not been aired yet or the reviewer had not seen the movie? Active Measures 2018 is a clear example. The movie was aired yesterday but 28 were done before it aired.
Photo of Prismark10

Prismark10

  • 11 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
Active Measures might had been released on 31 August but there could been previews or special showings or shown in film festivals.

I once attended a film preview in Hollywood Boulevard for a movie that was released some weeks later.