Why has my review not been published???

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 9 months ago
  • Solved
  • (Edited)
After taking quite some time to bother writing my review of "True Lies" (1994), I submitted it on Sat 5th Jan 2019. However, it STILL has not been published.

As well noticing other reviews of the same movie (dated later than mine) having been published, I also subsequently submitted a review of "The Browning Version" (1951). This latter review was published pretty much immediately!

There has been no explanation as to why my review has not been published, and if this is intentional... it's a pretty poor show. Keeping reviewers who have spent a lot of time writing their review/s, in the dark with no explanation is quite insulting.

If there's a problem, please let us KNOW!
Photo of Daniele Iannarelli

Daniele Iannarelli

  • 46 Posts
  • 44 Reply Likes
  • Annoyed and irritated

Posted 9 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Vincent Fournols

Vincent Fournols

  • 2901 Posts
  • 4890 Reply Likes
Hi Daniele,

First, what is the status of your submission on https://contribute.imdb.com/contributions/history ?
Is it pending or rejected? If it is rejected, please click on "View Contribution Details" to see what reason IMDb gives for rejecting it.

Please share the submission ID so an IMDb staff can review it.

You can also share your review here to get a feedback from other contibutors.


Photo of Daniele Iannarelli

Daniele Iannarelli

  • 46 Posts
  • 44 Reply Likes
Thank you for that.

I never new such a page existed.
Is there a direct link to this page on my sign-in page? If so, I can't find it.

Ok, it seems my review has been declined!
It really would've been helpful to have received an automatic email saying so, and stating why. After all, there is an automatic email that gets sent out thanking the reviewer for the submission.

Right, well...

The only possible (or most likely considering how everyone and every organisation is so ludicrously politically correct these sad, trying, oppressive and soul-breaking days) is one phrase I wrote, as follows:

"...this 7.2 'wonder' - typically - alludes to the depicted Arab terrorists as 'freedom fighters' blaming America for creating their warped 'cause'."

Could *this* be it??? If so, how petty and ridiculous! What is WRONG with that??? Am I not allowed to state the OBVIOUS?

Film reviews should be completely objective... which is what I've been!

Okay, well, let me re-phrase it and submit again.
Absolute nonsense!
(Edited)
Photo of Vincent Fournols

Vincent Fournols

  • 2901 Posts
  • 4888 Reply Likes
Hi Daniele,

As stated at the top of the page, it is still in beta testing. So this why the link is not available on the site (but it is shared on a lot of topics here!)

What reason IMDb gave to rejecting your submission? (remember click on "View contributions details"!)

Personally, I do not see why your sentence should have your submission rejected. But this is only my 2 cents...
Photo of Daniele Iannarelli

Daniele Iannarelli

  • 46 Posts
  • 44 Reply Likes
Hi

Thanks.

The 'reason' given was:

"Reason - Does not meet contribution guidelines.
Your contribution has been declined.Your submission conflicted with one or more of our policies as stated in our User Review Submission guide Please review these policies before submitting again. Thank you for understanding our position."

It doesn't say specifically what the offending comment/phrase is. I just assumed it was what I suggested it might be.

I did write "Utter rubbish" at the end of my review. Perhaps this is the reason? Come to think of it, there did seem to be a larger spacing at the end, between those two words and the review in the main.
Photo of Daniele Iannarelli

Daniele Iannarelli

  • 46 Posts
  • 44 Reply Likes
Hi Chrissie,
Mine was actually declined.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3625 Posts
  • 3503 Reply Likes

After taking quite some time to bother writing my review of "True Lies" (1994),
I submitted it on Sat 5th Jan 2019. However, it STILL has not been published
by Daniele Iannarelli
Joined on January 9, 2019
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/daniele_iannarelli
- - -

You could add...  to look at later ...

True Lies  (1994)
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0111503/
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0111503/reference

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0111503/reviews?sort=submissionDate&dir=desc&ratingFilter=0
358 Reviews

- - -

The Browning Version  (1951)
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0043362/
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0043362/reference

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0043362/reviews?sort=submissionDate&dir=desc&ratingFilter=0
56 Reviews

Beautiful portrait of failure and depression 
by daniele-iannarelli - 6 January 2019
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw4566329/
- - -

daniele-iannarelli
IMDb member since April 2016
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur66217985/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur66217985/reviews - 24 Reviews

https://www.imdb.com/registration/accountsettings
Other
•View contributions
https://contribute.imdb.com/updates/history  (older version)

.

(Edited)
Photo of Will

Will, Official Rep

  • 3909 Posts
  • 4980 Reply Likes
Hi Danielle,

Based on the above I can't see why this review was rejected either. It could have been a mistake on behalf of the editor, or something else in the review as I don't have the full submission. Please try resubmitting the item now.

Regards,
Will
Photo of Daniele Iannarelli

Daniele Iannarelli

  • 46 Posts
  • 44 Reply Likes
Thank you Wilma

Firstly, my name is "Daniele" (the Italian *male* form), and not 'Danielle' (the French *female* form).

My review seems now to have been published after I changed the wording around and removed the word "Arab".
(Edited)
Photo of Daniele Iannarelli

Daniele Iannarelli

  • 46 Posts
  • 44 Reply Likes
On another note, my review of "Bird Box" has just been declined on the basis of "Badly Formatted"...!

It goes on to tell me: "Your contribution has been declined.Your contribution did not meet our formatting standards. Please review our submission guides".

I have checked the "submission guides" link and I can find no reference at all to formatting... so how am I supposed to understand what's wrong with my formatting...?!
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3613 Posts
  • 3490 Reply Likes

Daniele Iannarelli
On another note, my review of "Bird Box"
has just been declined on the basis of "Badly Formatted"...!
- - -

? ?

Bird Box  (2018)
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2737304/
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2737304/reference
2,013 Reviews
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2737304/reviews?sort=submissionDate&dir=desc&ratingFilter=0

- - -

https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/review-again-declined-no-rational-explanation
Review AGAIN declined - no rational explanation!
I had two reviews of “Bird Box” already published.
I decided to amalgamate them into one.
So, I duly deleted the two already on the reviews page,
combined/rewrote the two and submitted..

.

(Edited)
Photo of Will

Will, Official Rep

  • 3909 Posts
  • 4980 Reply Likes
Apologies for the error in my spelling Daniele, have you got the submission reference?

Regards,
Will
(Edited)
Photo of Daniele Iannarelli

Daniele Iannarelli

  • 46 Posts
  • 44 Reply Likes
Hi again, Will.

Yes, it's #190110-103138-497104
I've tried resubmitting and I see it's still "pending".

Regards

Daniele
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3613 Posts
  • 3490 Reply Likes

daniele-iannarelli
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur66217985/reviews - 25 Reviews

True Lies (1994)
4/10 
The usual bubblegum-brain guff 
9 January 2019
Well, I've just seen this for the first time,
after many years of intentional avoidance.
What complete trash. How it can be rated as highly as 7.2 on IMDB
I fail to understand.
Am I living in some kind of twilight world??? ...

https://www.imdb.com/review/rw4571404/

- - -

True Lies  (1994)
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0111503/
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0111503/reference

User Reviews - 359 Reviews

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0111503/reviews?sort=submissionDate&dir=desc&ratingFilter=0

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0111503/ratings
215,547 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 7.2 / 10

.

(Edited)
Photo of Vincent Fournols

Vincent Fournols

  • 2901 Posts
  • 4888 Reply Likes
Chrissie,

please go back to "your" topic (https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/why-has-my-review-of-the-guernsey-literary-potato-peel-pie-s...) and follow it up. You have not provided your last sumbission ID, you have not shared the IMDb response that you can pick up from https://contribute.imdb.com/contributions/history (and this is the sixth time that this information is given to you...)
Stop complaining and be constructive, we are only here to help.


Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 7262 Posts
  • 9458 Reply Likes
"Wrong thread"
Photo of Michelle

Michelle, Official Rep

  • 12888 Posts
  • 9949 Reply Likes
Hi Daniele -

Thanks for posting the additional information.  Your most recent User Review for "Bird Box" has now been approved and should be listed on the site shortly.  Cheers!
(Edited)
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 16426 Posts
  • 18821 Reply Likes
Thanks M
Cheers
Photo of Daniele Iannarelli

Daniele Iannarelli

  • 46 Posts
  • 44 Reply Likes
Thanks for letting me know, Michelle.
D