Why cant we Delete Customer with No Activity?

  • Idea
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Under Consideration
Any customer /or vendor that has zero activity, you should be able to delete them from your database. I know you can deactivate them but I dont think that makes any sense. I imported an incorrect customer with wrong info. I should be able to delete that csutomer or vendor.
Photo of robert weisbergRW

robert weisberg

  • 25 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 5 years ago

  • 9
Photo of Stephen

Stephen, Official Rep

  • 1435 Posts
  • 93 Reply Likes
Hi Robert. Yes, this is on our wishlist. For now, please use deactivate. You can also overwrite that customer instead of creating a new one next time you're adding a customer to your database.
Photo of robert weisbergRW

robert weisberg

  • 25 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Ok. I did not know you could over write a customer.

Rob
Photo of BillB

Bill

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I have this same request with inventory. If I mistype the product number, or entered it wrong. I will try overwriting and see what happens.
Photo of Stephen

Stephen, Official Rep

  • 1435 Posts
  • 93 Reply Likes
Thanks Bill!
Photo of Eric BessoEB

Eric Besso

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
when I deactivate a customer in Ver 2, the customer dissapears from my list effectively deleting it.
Photo of Stephen

Stephen, Official Rep

  • 1435 Posts
  • 93 Reply Likes
Thanks Eric, I'm glad you see things like how we do that way!
Photo of sandraS

sandra

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I also want to delete an order - I have started an order by without realizing that I had the same order started previously - then I want to delete it, but it is always listed as a canceled order. Anyway to fully delete it?
Photo of Stephen

Stephen, Official Rep

  • 1435 Posts
  • 93 Reply Likes
Hi Sandra,

No, sorry, there's no way to delete it entirely. However, in the Sales Order listing, if you select the statuses not to include Cancelled, then they won't show up. e.g. selecting "Open Orders" from the menu won't show the cancelled orders.
Photo of vboseV

vbose

  • 5 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Suppose if i am deleting a customer, will it delete the Sales orders made to those customers ? if not how will it appear in the completed sales orders ?
Photo of Siobhan

Siobhan, Official Rep

  • 5275 Posts
  • 187 Reply Likes
Hi there,

You can't actually delete a customer but you can de-activate the customer. Associated sales orders etc, will not be deleted but if you cancel them, their affect on your inventory and sales etc. will no longer be taken into account by the program.

For more information on de-activating items in inFlow click here:
http://www.inflowinventory.com/Knowle...
Photo of Taqieddine SbitaTS

Taqieddine Sbita

  • 12 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
3 years ago this was put on your wishlist, but still no update?
I was testing inflow how it will work, and I made some test customers and test products. Now I want to start working with it for my company, and I don't wanna deactivate 155 customers manually. Also I don't want them to be all deactivated. I just want to DELETE them, so I can import my real customers into the program.

Please, is there a way?
Photo of Siobhan

Siobhan, Official Rep

  • 5275 Posts
  • 187 Reply Likes
Hi Taqieddine,

I'm sorry to hear that you're upset by the lack of ability to delete customers. I can understand how that might be frustrating however, in terms of how things work with the wishlist, it's a holding place for requested features from users however we must prioritize those aspects which we feel will be most beneficial to the user base as a whole in order to ensure the program continues to improve and support the needs of the userbase.

In terms of your concern right now however what you may find is that the "reset all data" option will accomplish your task. Anything you wish to salvage from the testing phase please export via Main Menu > General > Export Data and once you have please go to Main Menu > General > Reset All Data. This will wipe your database and give you a blank new one to start with.

Hope that helps!
Photo of Ashok ShahAS

Ashok Shah

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
I just need to remove Customer list not the products and other information so will the Reset All Data help me?
Photo of Siobhan

Siobhan, Official Rep

  • 5275 Posts
  • 187 Reply Likes
Hi Ashok,

The Reset All Data will wipe your whole database as opposed to being able to simply clear out one item. That said, you can certainly export your data from the system (Customers, Vendors etc.), reset and then import all the data you want to keep, excepting the Customer List. That will result-- however-- in your losing your movement history.

I hope that helps to clarify!
Photo of Leanne BohnLB

Leanne Bohn

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
I need to change the name on one of the customers with zero activity to a name of a customer that orders regularily. It is telling me I am up to my 100 limit. Is it possible to delete a part # and use that spot for my customer?
Photo of Siobhan

Siobhan, Official Rep

  • 5275 Posts
  • 187 Reply Likes
Hi Leanne,

I'm afraid not, sorry about that. Once you've created a product or customer it cannot be removed from the system or transferred to another type of record. If you wanted to start your database over you could always export your information, reset the database and then re-create the records by importing your exported files as noted above.

Thanks for following up! Please let us know if you're still having trouble!