"This shout is unavailable."

  • 15
  • Idea
  • Updated 5 days ago
  • Under Consideration
I had a follower who left some messages on my profile. He deleted his profile and now the messages have been deleted and now it's showing up "This shout is unavailable.".It's taking up a lot of my profile and it's ugly. You could get that kind of message out.
Photo of Ana Caroline

Ana Caroline

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 2 years ago

  • 15
Photo of Alex

Alex

  • 7 Posts
  • 12 Reply Likes
I se why this message would make sense in an artist page but we should get an option to delete these on our own profile, it has become rather annoying...
Photo of Tom Stephen

Tom Stephen

  • 466 Posts
  • 685 Reply Likes
I'm not for taking these kind of messages out, just we should:

1) have an option to delete them on our profile
2) these shouts should be exactly the same as they were, with just username greyed out "deleted user" - like private messages actually have with same case.
Photo of Jon

Jon, Community & Customer Services

  • 4856 Posts
  • 3603 Reply Likes
I agree with #1 and I think it's the simplest solution; so I've raised it for consideration with the team.
Photo of Tom Stephen

Tom Stephen

  • 466 Posts
  • 685 Reply Likes
Just asking, but #2 is not likely seen because of privacy policy of deleted users? I remember I read something like that, but I'm not sure if I remember it correctly.
Photo of Jon

Jon, Community & Customer Services

  • 4856 Posts
  • 3603 Reply Likes
Yeah pretty much.  It's always been our policy that if you delete your account, then your shouts are automatically hidden / deleted also.
Photo of Tom Stephen

Tom Stephen

  • 466 Posts
  • 685 Reply Likes
I understand. I am still asking about this mainly because sometimes it happens situation, when someone "disappear" from Last.fm and their shouts are "gone", but they come back after some time.
Also, this would be helpful for guiding people about topic, as sometimes discussion contains many people and some of them can disappear too. But I understand that policy is more important, that's quite fair. It also could be an option asking user deleting account, if he/she wants shouts to be hidden/deleted or to last forever [with possible reasons listed, why first one is not the only option]
Photo of Jon

Jon, Community & Customer Services

  • 4856 Posts
  • 3603 Reply Likes
Right now, if you deactivate your account your shouts will be hidden, but replies will remain visible.  If you later decide to reactivate your account (within 14 days before it's completely deleted), the shouts you posted will become visible again. 

It's still to be decided whether we fully delete hidden shouts after a user's account is completely deleted from the site, or leave them hidden.  My inclination is to leave them hidden, since as you said, there may be other people having a conversation within the discussion thread, and we don't want to delete those.  This is why I think #1 is a fair compromise -- you can delete the shout from your profile page if you really want, but keep in mind that 1. it will remove any replies also, and 2. the user might change their mind and reactivate their account.

>>> It also could be an option asking user deleting account, if he/she wants shouts to be hidden/deleted or to last forever
Sure, but honestly, I can't see us doing this.  The team are generally opposed to adding custom settings to handle edge cases, when there's a broader solution that works for the majority.
Photo of boscopud

boscopud

  • 14 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
Please do something! With so many people leaving, these empty/unavailable shouts are making my page not only ugly but just leaving a sad reminder of what a ghost town Last.fm is becoming. :( I would be very willing to spend the time going through and deleting these types of shouts. Thank you.