Account Deletion

  • 3
  • 7
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
In settings, I can't see an option to actually delete my account - it appears that after I 'close' the account, if I sign back in, all my data would come back. I'm looking for a way to close my account so that all my data would be deleted.

Would it be possible to be given a way to delete our accounts?
Photo of Barnabas

Barnabas

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

  • 3
  • 7
Photo of Carlos

Carlos

  • 1 Post
  • 2 Reply Likes
I have the same request...  When I decide to delete an account somewhere, I would like all my information to BE DELETED... Scrubbed from the system...  Not just merely "deactivated" or "closed".  That way if a site is hacked (as Last.fm was) my information is not captured.  I have seen many people posting this same question but nothing is being done.

Last.fm...  fix this so we can actually DELETE our information from your systems!!
Photo of Billiter .

Billiter .

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Same issue - anyone get any resolution?
Photo of Classyntar

Classyntar

  • 1 Post
  • 1 Reply Like
The original request was posted 8 months ago and there is no official answer yet. What's the company's stance on users wanting their data to be deleted?
Photo of Hans-Jürgen

Hans-Jürgen, Moderator

  • 2213 Posts
  • 1166 Reply Likes
Please contact the support team with their email form.
Photo of Manon Dijk

Manon Dijk

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Last.fm: In March 2012, the music website Last.fm was hacked and 43 million user accounts were exposed. Whilst Last.fm knew of an incident back in 2012, the scale of the hack was not known until the data was released publicly in September 2016. The breach included 37 million unique email addresses, usernames and passwords stored as unsalted MD5 hashes.

Compromised data: Email addresses, Passwords, Usernames, Website activity


I did not even know I had an account here.... Due to a hack, this website owes it to the community to give a delete account option!