Not deleting comments after deleting user's account

  • 9
  • Idea
  • Updated 2 years ago
As far as I wander on Last.fm after beta change, I see many "empty shouts" which are comments of users who already deleted their accounts. And this gives me a question, which is, simply: is it any way to not delete comments' content, leaving it just as "deleted account" in nickname field?

I suspect there's something in privacy rules or something forcing this, so if it's this way, explain me.
But it's quite sad as there are many nice, interesting discussions going away with these deleted accounts. Especially while many people deleted accounts after beta change.
Photo of Tom Stephen

Tom Stephen

  • 430 Posts
  • 496 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 9
Photo of ohgod

ohgod

  • 128 Posts
  • 457 Reply Likes
I agree with this, if you can do it on the forum, why not with shouts as well? 

(Edited)
Photo of Tom Stephen

Tom Stephen

  • 430 Posts
  • 496 Reply Likes
Up, as at least one shout here agreed with me. :> I think it's quite small thing, but how makes everything better.. I don't wanna see my profile shoutbox full of empty messages someday.
Photo of Patrick

Patrick

  • 1168 Posts
  • 650 Reply Likes
I'm for this.
Photo of garynotrashcoug

garynotrashcoug

  • 747 Posts
  • 744 Reply Likes
I'm for either this or just delete the "shout unavailable" placeholder all together. Since there's a limit on how many shouts are displayed on a page, sometimes I've been viewing a shoutbox and a good portion of it can be taken up by these blank placeholders.
Photo of Frankenrin

Frankenrin

  • 145 Posts
  • 796 Reply Likes
Yup, I'm all for that. Makes the site look less like a graveyard.