Deleting original image

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 8 years ago
Is it possible to delete the original image after using the API to create the deep zoom format on zoom.it? I would like to point users to the zoom.it version, but not have access to the original file (which is present in a link at the bottom of the zoom.it page).

Thanks!
Photo of ahbiscuits

ahbiscuits

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 8 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Aseem Kishore

Aseem Kishore, Former Employee

  • 702 Posts
  • 124 Reply Likes
You indeed shouldn't. Zoom.it is meant to be a cache. If content is ever lost or purged, the idea is that it can always be re-generated.

While this does expose your image, anyone with technical knowledge could also rebuild your original image from the Zoom.it tiles. All it takes is an image editor and a bit of time. =)
Photo of ahbiscuits

ahbiscuits

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Ah, ok. I'm aware that someone could reconstruct the image, I just wanted to not make it quite so easy. Thanks for the info.