It appears that zoom.it recycled my unique ID

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 7 years ago
I have been pushing lots of images to zoom.it for a website I'm building, then storing the ids in a database for later use with the javascript widget. I went back for some quick smoke testing and it appears that some of my images have been replaced!

For example, 5Bte used to belong to me, but now it is someone else's image.

Does zoom.it recycle IDs? Are they only valid for a given period of time? I was under the impression that the images would persist.
Photo of ahbiscuits

ahbiscuits

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 7 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Aseem Kishore

Aseem Kishore, Former Employee

  • 702 Posts
  • 124 Reply Likes
(Sorry for the test message above. Get Sat is having login issues.)

Zoom.it doesn't recycle IDs! If you're sure that's what you saw, that's an unfortunate and crazy bug. We can only apologize in that case!

Did you lose any other content? Were they all created around the same time?
Photo of ahbiscuits

ahbiscuits

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
This happened to several of my images, but I think I understand why. Could it be because I deleted the original source image, and you went to regenerate it, couldn't find it, and so released my ID to someone else?
Photo of Aseem Kishore

Aseem Kishore, Former Employee

  • 702 Posts
  • 124 Reply Likes
Even in that case, we don't/shouldn't release the ID; we just show an error message. That's too bad. I'm sorry it happened!
Photo of ahbiscuits

ahbiscuits

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Dang, ok then that sounds like a bug that needs to be tracked down.
Photo of Bill Crow

Bill Crow, Seadragon Group Manager

  • 100 Posts
  • 38 Reply Likes
You should not delete your original images. zoom.it is not for unlimited free persistent image storage. It's a cache for optimized viewing. It's designed to purge its Deep Zoom image cache when the original source images no longer exist, or even purge the cache of images that haven't been accessed through zoom.it in a long time. It then can regenerate the Deep Zoom version from the original image if its ever accessed again. This was all designed to manage the total amount of storage required for the service. But, as Aseem said, it shouldn't be recycling ID's (specifically to avoid the problem you're encountering.) It's really strange that this would happen. I've certainly never seen it before.
Photo of Cedric

Cedric

  • 34 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
I get the same k
Photo of Cedric

Cedric

  • 34 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
hehe, sorry

I get the same problem, but in the other way around.
I explain

I gove the URl of my Image, and then I generate the Zoom process
I get instantly an image wich is not mine. Weird ?
Any Idea ?

Thanks
Cedric