Help get this topic noticed by sharing it on Twitter, Facebook, or email.

How do I automatically open next message after deleting one?

When I'm viewing a message from my inbox and I decide to delete it, I can easily click on the delete button and it will be moved to the Trash folder. But I'm left still viewing the same message. I would like to configure Thunderbird to act like Outlook so that after deleting a message I'm viewing it automatically opens the next message in the inbox (according to current sort order). Is there some way to configure this behavior in Thunderbird?
11 people have
this question
+1
Reply
  • You can change this behavior by using the Config Editor to change the value of the preference mailnews.nav_crosses_folders. The values are:

    0
    Always go to the next folder without prompting
    1
    Ask before going (the default behaviour)
    2
    Never go to the next folder with unread messages

    I had the same problem and discovered that my value was set to 1. Amending this to 0 solved the problem, i.e. Thunderbird would automatically move onto the next message after I had deleted the one I was reading.

    To access the Config Editor, go to Tools > Options... (Thunderbird > Preferences... on Mac OS X, and Edit > Preferences... on Linux), select the Advanced options panel, click on the General tab, and click on Config Editor. This will display a list of used preferences, as well as a search bar at the top.

    Double-click on a preference to change its value. To do add a new preference, open the context menu (right-click) on any existing preference, go to the New menu, and select the type of preference.

    Some preferences may require that you restart Thunderbird in order to take effect.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited sad, anxious, confused, frustrated indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly

  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited sad, anxious, confused, frustrated indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly

  • Go to Options > Advanced > Reading and Display > Check "Close message window on delete". That should get you back to your Inbox after deleting a message.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited sad, anxious, confused, frustrated indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly

  • I have a variation on this question. In Version 2, if I deleted a message I was reading, the next unread message in that account's in-box opened to be read in the same message window. The deleted message went to trash. If there were no unread messages left in that mailbox, Version 2 would ask if I wanted to open the next unread message in the next account in-box. I usually did not want to go to the next account so could decline.

    In Version 3, I can get the deleted message to close and go to trash, but I cannot find the option to have the next unread message in the same account in-box to automatically open.

    Anyone know how to set the configuration to emulate Version 2 for this?
    • Commenting on my own question...

      I have found that I can get the next message to open after deleting a message if I use the tab function rather than a new message window.

      Unfortunately, it opens the next message read or unread, rather than just unread messages, and it still does not inform me when I have opened all unread messages. After deleting the last unread message, the last previously undeleted read message opens. I can simply close the tab at that point to be back to the in-box but I would like it to be automatic.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited sad, anxious, confused, frustrated indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly

  • I have another variation to this question. I usually archive my messages, but there is no option to archive a message and not go to the next message in the inbox. I would like to have the message window close automatically when I archive the currently open email, not open the next one.

    Anyone know how to do this?
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited sad, anxious, confused, frustrated indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly

  • I’m irritated
    Since the update to 3.1.4, the next message in my Inbox is not opened when the current one is deleted. I use Thunderbird with folders in the left pane, message headers in the top right, and message text in the lower right. This is on a MacBookPro running Mac OS 10.6.4.
    In previous versions of Thunderbird, when I deleted a message header from the top right pane, the next message (read or unread) would be selected automatically. What happens now is that no message is selected or displayed after the current one is deleted, and the lower right reading pane is empty.
    I would like to have the original behavior restored.
    Bill
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited sad, anxious, confused, frustrated indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly