Hey! I accidentally uncleared every transaction in the ledger - all should be marked cleared. How can I correct this?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 1 month ago
  • In Progress
Hey! I accidentally uncleared every transaction in the ledger - all should be marked cleared. Is there a way to mark all as cleared without going to each transaction one at a time?
Photo of Cheryl Hendricks Hess Wood

Posted 4 months ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of mshiggins

mshiggins, SuperUser

  • 325,110 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
QWin or QMac?
Photo of lhossus

lhossus, SuperUser

  • 14,496 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
First, a question: how did you "accidentally unclear every transaction" in the register? Why not just reverse that process?

In Quicken for Mac 2017, during the Reconcile process, there is the option to Mark all as Cleared. You can do this and then Save and finish later under the gear menu to the right of the Done button if you don't want to complete the reconcile.

You can "fiddle" with the date in the reconcile setup screen if you don't want to mark the most recent transactions as cleared.

Be sure to make a backup of your data file before doing this in case the results are not to your liking. And remember, Undo is also available to reverse incorrect actions.
Photo of Joette Anderson

Joette Anderson

  • 750 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
If it's Qwin, highlight all the transactions, then place the mouse (while holding down the control key) on the Clr column, and click on cleared. It will run you through asking if you really want to do that a bunch of times, but that should put them all back as cleared the quickest way I know.