how bout a "view cleared balance"

  • 0
  • 3
  • Idea
  • Updated 3 months ago
  • (Edited)
I have a dozen various accounts, and I check my bank websites to manually reconcile these accounts on a daily basis. When I do this I manipulate the CLR checkboxes on the transactions. It would be HUGELY beneficial if I could see a running "cleared" account balance. If the selection dropdown in the upper right corner of the account register that lets you choose between "view today's balance", "view projected balance", and "view online balance" also had "view cleared balance" that would be awesome.
Photo of Elden Fenison

Elden Fenison

  • 150 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 7 months ago

  • 0
  • 3
Photo of John in NC

John in NC, SuperUser

  • 272,012 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Are any of these banks supported for download by Quicken? If so, the online balance would accomplish the same and would save you the trouble of having to manually make each transaction as cleared.
Photo of Tom Young

Tom Young, SuperUser

  • 11,152 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
If you're using a Windows version you should be able to simply tick the gearwheel in the upper right hand corner, select "sorting options" and then select "by cleared".  That will put the uncleared items at the bottom of the register and above that you'll have a listing, and total, of everything that's cleared.  Don't know if the Mac versions supports this.
Photo of smayer97

smayer97, SuperUser

  • 210,766 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
You can get the same SORT in QM2017 but unless the view is sorted by Date, you will not get a running balance.

Also as a side note, a running balance only applies to a single account selected at a time, not a grouped view of more than one account.
Photo of Michael

Michael

  • 216 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I also believe that this is an important feature.  I realize that the online balance "accomplishes the same", but it only works if you update your accounts.  Sometimes I want to review my accounts without actually performing an update.  I might be working in one account, but I don't want to have all of my accounts updated.  Despite the fact there is an option to "Update Selected Online Account", when I click it, it still updates more than just the selected account.