The Share Register. How do I regain former features?

  • 1
  • 3
  • Question
  • Updated 6 months ago
  • Answered
I have recently updated to Quicken 2017. The new version is not allowing me to record imputation credits on my share register. How do I regain this feature?
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 6 months ago

  • 1
  • 3
Photo of thecreator

thecreator, SuperUser

  • 60,622 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hi @ AGG ,

See this Article: https://getsatisfaction.com/quickencommunity/topics/add-your-quicken-information-to-your-posts-plus-...

Add information, plus what is a Share register?
Photo of mshiggins

mshiggins, SuperUser

  • 344,596 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
And what's an imputation credit?
Photo of NotACPA

NotACPA, SuperUser

  • 338,942 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
From a quick Google search, an "imputation credit" appears to be a tax thing in Australia.  Is that where you're writing from?

This forum is intended for US and Cdn users of Q ... so we know almost nothing about Aussie taxes and tax practices.

So, you'll need to explain to us as if we're infants what your issue is.
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I understand what you say so my question becomes this: to whom should I turn for advice about a product for sale in Australia? I can find no customer service who can advise me how to restore features that I have used for many years in earlier editions and which are essential to Australian users - but which appear to have been dropped from the new edition. Perhaps I am looking in the wrong place but I don't know how to locate advice. Any help you can give would be appreciated. Is there a customer service address?
Photo of thecreator

thecreator, SuperUser

  • 60,510 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hi @ AGG ,

You never answered where you purchased Quicken 2017 from?

The U.S. Version has a 60 day Return Policy.

https://www.quicken.com/support/Terms-and-Conditions-For-Exchanging-Returning-or-Refunding-Quicken-P...
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I purchased it on line in Australia
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Thank you for the advice about the returns policy. Have any idea how I should institute this process? If I do this, I should then possibly go back to the store where I purchased my original version back in 2003.?
Photo of thecreator

thecreator, SuperUser

  • 60,510 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hi @ AGG ,

You purchased it online in Australia, but which Web-site? Do you have a receipt for the purchase?

Did you buy it from Quicken.com or for example, Amazon.com?
Photo of Tom Young

Tom Young, SuperUser

  • 9,760 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
And, what the heck is an "imputation credit" and how exactly does it work?  With some understanding of the mechanics involved there may be a simple work around.
Photo of splasher

splasher, SuperUser

  • 550,312 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
It seems like there is still confusion of which Quicken you have.

Exactly what is shown if you do Help->About Quicken ?

A screenshot would be great.  Click on the camera icon at the bottom of the comment window to add the picture.
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I don't recall how or from which supplier I purchased on line. I simply searched for quicken and followed the prompts. I do have the paperwork but not here!
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I received no email to advise me of the corporate changes and was therefore completely unaware that Reckon and Quicken has separated.

If I uninstall, I'm not sure how I can re-install the old version which I downloaded originally and which is presumably no longer available?
Photo of Tom Young

Tom Young, SuperUser

  • 9,770 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
"If I uninstall, I'm not sure how I can re-install the old version which I downloaded originally and which is presumably no longer available?"

If you downloaded it and the download's still on our computer you presumably can reinstall but who knows if all the updates are still available.

You need to get over to the Reckon "community" - which looks suspiciously like "GetSat" in undercover clothing - and start asking questions.

https://community.reckon.com/reckon
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I have now discovered that I purchased the revised version on 9 February. Does this mean I have simply wasted $164 because I am beyond the 60 days?
Photo of thecreator

thecreator, SuperUser

  • 60,622 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hi @ AGG ,

Unfortunately, the answer is yes.

However, you can try contacting Quicken Support Chat at: https://www.quicken.com/support#contact-support and see if they can make an allowance in your case.

And a question that goes unasked, is the stupidest question. Try it, don't wait.