The Share Register. How do I regain former features?

  • 1
  • 3
  • Question
  • Updated 2 months ago
  • Answered
I have recently updated to Quicken 2017. The new version is not allowing me to record imputation credits on my share register. How do I regain this feature?
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 2 months ago

  • 1
  • 3
Photo of thecreator

thecreator, SuperUser

  • 55,928 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hi @ AGG ,

See this Article: https://getsatisfaction.com/quickencommunity/topics/add-your-quicken-information-to-your-posts-plus-...

Add information, plus what is a Share register?
Photo of mshiggins

mshiggins, SuperUser

  • 330,900 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
And what's an imputation credit?
Photo of NotACPA

NotACPA, SuperUser

  • 324,836 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
From a quick Google search, an "imputation credit" appears to be a tax thing in Australia.  Is that where you're writing from?

This forum is intended for US and Cdn users of Q ... so we know almost nothing about Aussie taxes and tax practices.

So, you'll need to explain to us as if we're infants what your issue is.
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I understand what you say so my question becomes this: to whom should I turn for advice about a product for sale in Australia? I can find no customer service who can advise me how to restore features that I have used for many years in earlier editions and which are essential to Australian users - but which appear to have been dropped from the new edition. Perhaps I am looking in the wrong place but I don't know how to locate advice. Any help you can give would be appreciated. Is there a customer service address?
Photo of thecreator

thecreator, SuperUser

  • 55,858 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hi @ AGG ,

From where did you buy Quicken 2017 from?

Perhaps you better seek help from:  https://community.reckon.com/reckon
Photo of gmalis1

gmalis1, SuperUser

  • 155,120 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Or perhaps, by some strange way, the op purchased a US version of Quicken.  

In which case, there will be NO Australian features available.  
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I'm beginning to think this is the case but I don't know how it happened nor how to fix the problem!!
Photo of thecreator

thecreator, SuperUser

  • 55,858 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hi @ AGG ,

You never answered where you purchased Quicken 2017 from?

The U.S. Version has a 60 day Return Policy.

https://www.quicken.com/support/Terms-and-Conditions-For-Exchanging-Returning-or-Refunding-Quicken-P...
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I purchased it on line in Australia
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Thank you for the advice about the returns policy. Have any idea how I should institute this process? If I do this, I should then possibly go back to the store where I purchased my original version back in 2003.?
Photo of thecreator

thecreator, SuperUser

  • 55,858 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hi @ AGG ,

You purchased it online in Australia, but which Web-site? Do you have a receipt for the purchase?

Did you buy it from Quicken.com or for example, Amazon.com?
Photo of Tom Young

Tom Young, SuperUser

  • 6,474 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
And, what the heck is an "imputation credit" and how exactly does it work?  With some understanding of the mechanics involved there may be a simple work around.
Photo of splasher

splasher, SuperUser

  • 539,958 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
It seems like there is still confusion of which Quicken you have.

Exactly what is shown if you do Help->About Quicken ?

A screenshot would be great.  Click on the camera icon at the bottom of the comment window to add the picture.
Photo of NotACPA

NotACPA, SuperUser

  • 324,836 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Continuing splasher's query.  Do you have Quicken (the product that's only licensed for sale in the US and Canada)?

OR, do your have the Reckon product, which is sold in Australia?  Reckon licensed the product from Quicken, but over the years the 2 products have diverged in several ways. 

This forum is for QUICKEN, not Reckon which we know nothing about.

However, if you explain that "Imputation credit" we MIGHT be able to assist you.
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I think I have inadvertently got the US product not .the Australian product, although I don't know how I did this. What I now need to find out is how to rectify this by replacing my recent upgrade, which removed my old programme, with the current Australian product. Candy anyone suggest the best way forward?
Photo of NotACPA

NotACPA, SuperUser

  • 324,836 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
We can help to straighten this out if you provide the screen shot that splasher asked for 8 hours ago.
Photo of thecreator

thecreator, SuperUser

  • 55,928 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hi @ AGG ,

In order to get a Refund, you need to have a receipt for the purchase. If not, then you can't obtain a refund for the product.

You need to remove the current version, by using this method:  https://getsatisfaction.com/quickencommunity/topics/installing-reinstalling-and-upgrading-to-windows...

Then reinstall your older version.


And you haven't answered my other questions above:

You purchased it online in Australia, but which Web-site? Do you have a receipt for the purchase?

Did you buy it from Quicken.com or for example, Amazon.com?
Photo of Tom Young

Tom Young, SuperUser

  • 6,474 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2012

Decision to give up QuickBooks® and Quicken® names is made. Massive re-branding effort launches!

2013

Automated data entry software for accountants hits the market with Reckon SyncDirect.

2014

Reckon’s relationship Intuit Inc, USA, ends. QuickBooks® brand officially can no longer be used by Reckon. #EndOfEra

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I'm sorry to hold up anyone offering to help but 8 hours ago was the middle of the night here and right now I am not near my computer so I cannot check. It may have to wait until (our) Monday morning.
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
... and, yes, I have proof of purchase.
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I don't recall how or from which supplier I purchased on line. I simply searched for quicken and followed the prompts. I do have the paperwork but not here!
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I received no email to advise me of the corporate changes and was therefore completely unaware that Reckon and Quicken has separated.

If I uninstall, I'm not sure how I can re-install the old version which I downloaded originally and which is presumably no longer available?
Photo of Tom Young

Tom Young, SuperUser

  • 6,474 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
"If I uninstall, I'm not sure how I can re-install the old version which I downloaded originally and which is presumably no longer available?"

If you downloaded it and the download's still on our computer you presumably can reinstall but who knows if all the updates are still available.

You need to get over to the Reckon "community" - which looks suspiciously like "GetSat" in undercover clothing - and start asking questions.

https://community.reckon.com/reckon
Photo of AGG

AGG

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I have now discovered that I purchased the revised version on 9 February. Does this mean I have simply wasted $164 because I am beyond the 60 days?
Photo of thecreator

thecreator, SuperUser

  • 55,928 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hi @ AGG ,

Unfortunately, the answer is yes.

However, you can try contacting Quicken Support Chat at: https://www.quicken.com/support#contact-support and see if they can make an allowance in your case.

And a question that goes unasked, is the stupidest question. Try it, don't wait.